Philly Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I was looking for a lighter, fluffier cheesecake, similar to the one they serve at Capitol Grille. This was it! Because of the cream and egg whites, it is not as dense as traditional cheesecake, yet creamy and delicious. The recipe photo that shows layers, is because the egg whites were not mixed into the batter enough. Mix them in gently but thoroughly as instructed and you will not get layers. I will make this again with one change - I will mix the graham crackers and butter and press it to the sides of the pan beforehand like most cheesecake recipes, rather than pouring the butter in and rolling the crumbs around. This did not provide a thick enough crust, although it did not stick to the pan. Overnight in the refrigerator is adequate for cooling. Also, I used a 9" springform pan, which worked perfectly. I fear a 8" would be too small to hold the batter. I wrapped the bottom of the pan in tinfoil to prevent water from entering the pan and baked in a 1" waterbath. I almost baked without a waterbath since it seems like too much work, but it really turned out perfect baking at 300 for 90 minutes exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
It was just OK for me. It was easy to make which really surprised me,but it tasted a lot like custard and I was looking for a thick creamy cheesecake. I was really excited because this was my first baked cheesecake and I was a bit disappointed. Neither my husband nor I were big fans of it. I don't think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by keri marion
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
fantastic! i substituted 1.5C half & half for the whipping cream and brought the total butter to 1 good sized pat. also in crust put 1/8C ground almonds and 1/8C ground mexican brown sugar. stellar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keri marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
This cheesecake was wonderful. I am on a Low Carb diet and this worked great. I left out the graham crackers and used Splenda in place of the sugar. The 2 tablespoons of flour is not going to sabotage a low carb diet. My husband liked it better than the regular cheesecakes that I make. Of course his had to have cherries on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was the first cheesecake I've ever made and got rave reviews with my dinner guests. I didn't have enough of the heavy cream, so I upped the cream cheese to 16 oz, then did 1 C heavy cream and 1/2 C milk. It was great - not too heavy, not to 'whipped'. Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
THIS PHILLY CHEESECAKE WAS GREAT THE FIRST TIME.MY DAUGHTER AND HER FAMLY THOUGHT SO TOO ITS THERE FAVORITE . I WILL MAKE IT AGAIN THANK YOU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Oh my gosh! SOOO easy, SOOOO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
i was asked to make a cheesecake for my managers boss, and i chose this one. when it came outof the oven it looked burnt compared to other cheesecake recipes i have used, which was kind of offputting. the only change i made was that once it had cooled, i dropped blobs of melted chocolate around the outside so that there was 1 chocolate blob per portion. it was very good, but the burnt look was a bit offputting. i would recommend cooking for 1 hour then turning the oven off and leaving the door ajar for about an hour, as is suggested in other cheesecake recipes. very tasty and deserves 5 stars for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
This was my first cheesecake, and I couldn't have found a better recipe. I made it for my father, and he couldn't get enough. The texture was exactly what I was looking for, not TOO creamy but not spongy either. Just perfect. Thanks, Maureen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IVANDIEPART
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Excellent cheesecake, which is the easiest I've ever baked, too. Mine turned out extra creamy and, somehow, had two layers. It was exactly as if whipped egg whites separated from the rest of the mixture while baking... This made like kind of a meringue on the top of the cheesecake, which was great. By the way, this is probably why this cheesecake look overdone even though it bakes for 60-90 minutes at 300.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States