Philly Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by keri marion
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
fantastic! i substituted 1.5C half & half for the whipping cream and brought the total butter to 1 good sized pat. also in crust put 1/8C ground almonds and 1/8C ground mexican brown sugar. stellar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keri marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I wanted and easy to follow recipe for my first attempt at a cheesecake, and this was really easy and turned out great! Cook time was a bit less the 1 1/2 and I added additional cream cheese, REALLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This was a wonderful recipe. Easy to follow and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was my first attempt at a cheesecake which I made for a going away dinner. Everyone loved it that it wasn't too heavy and the right amount of sweetness. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This was the first cheesecake I've ever made and got rave reviews with my dinner guests. I didn't have enough of the heavy cream, so I upped the cream cheese to 16 oz, then did 1 C heavy cream and 1/2 C milk. It was great - not too heavy, not to 'whipped'. Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IVANDIEPART
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Excellent cheesecake, which is the easiest I've ever baked, too. Mine turned out extra creamy and, somehow, had two layers. It was exactly as if whipped egg whites separated from the rest of the mixture while baking... This made like kind of a meringue on the top of the cheesecake, which was great. By the way, this is probably why this cheesecake look overdone even though it bakes for 60-90 minutes at 300.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
i was asked to make a cheesecake for my managers boss, and i chose this one. when it came outof the oven it looked burnt compared to other cheesecake recipes i have used, which was kind of offputting. the only change i made was that once it had cooled, i dropped blobs of melted chocolate around the outside so that there was 1 chocolate blob per portion. it was very good, but the burnt look was a bit offputting. i would recommend cooking for 1 hour then turning the oven off and leaving the door ajar for about an hour, as is suggested in other cheesecake recipes. very tasty and deserves 5 stars for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Absolutely delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
I'm going to have to disagree with majority opinion here and say that this cheesecake didn't quite work for me. It was passable, but there wasn't enough crust, and the recipe didn't state to wrap foil around the springform pan before placing it in the water bath. My top got too brown before the cheesecake was baked (this is probably the fault of my oven, though, which is quite old), and the flavor of the cheesecake itself was off, not quite sweet enough, not rich enough, a bit mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
I made thisfor my husband's birthday and it turned out fabulous! It wasn't at all difficult either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States