Philly Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I was looking for a lighter, fluffier cheesecake, similar to the one they serve at Capitol Grille. This was it! Because of the cream and egg whites, it is not as dense as traditional cheesecake, yet creamy and delicious. The recipe photo that shows layers, is because the egg whites were not mixed into the batter enough. Mix them in gently but thoroughly as instructed and you will not get layers. I will make this again with one change - I will mix the graham crackers and butter and press it to the sides of the pan beforehand like most cheesecake recipes, rather than pouring the butter in and rolling the crumbs around. This did not provide a thick enough crust, although it did not stick to the pan. Overnight in the refrigerator is adequate for cooling. Also, I used a 9" springform pan, which worked perfectly. I fear a 8" would be too small to hold the batter. I wrapped the bottom of the pan in tinfoil to prevent water from entering the pan and baked in a 1" waterbath. I almost baked without a waterbath since it seems like too much work, but it really turned out perfect baking at 300 for 90 minutes exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This is by far one of the best Philly style cheesecake recipes you will ever find. I have been making Maureen's recipe for over 5 years and it has been an absolute hit every time. If I take one to a pot luck it's gone in less that 15 minutes and I've even caught people licking the pan on more than one occasion! One day in a rush I forgot to separate the eggs and discovered this can also be a New York style cheesecake. If you don't like the light custardy texture of this one, just don't separate the eggs. Bake as directed, but you will end up with that thick, creamy, stick to the top of your mouth cheesecake instead. Either way, this recipe is a keeper! And it really is divine without any fruit or toppings. Thank you Maureen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rising Sun, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Was not a firm cheesecake. It was too soft and custard like. had a good flavor but was not like a cheesecake at all. I got compliments on it but probably will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Really, really good. Easy to make, light fluffy texture. Almost too delicate, had lots of trouble cutting it, and chilled it for over 24hrs. first. Ran a sharp knife under hot water and dried it for each cut. Any ideas or help here for slicing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Somewhat eggy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Tried this recipe and the family loved it. They now ask me to make one a week. I did add some blueberries to the mix so they cooked with the cheesecake. Add a blueberry sauce topping on top of that and it's like a little slice of heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
My Boyfriend is obsessed with it! I always get tons of compliments. Is also really good when putting some lemon extract in it and some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Oh my gosh! SOOO easy, SOOOO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This was easy to prepare and delicious. My family loved it! Next time I will make a thicker graham cracker crust. I also reduced the baking time to 65 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
OH MY Gosh love this recipe this is the first time I've made a cheese cake from scratch its soooo yummy and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States