Philly Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This is by far one of the best Philly style cheesecake recipes you will ever find. I have been making Maureen's recipe for over 5 years and it has been an absolute hit every time. If I take one to a pot luck it's gone in less that 15 minutes and I've even caught people licking the pan on more than one occasion! One day in a rush I forgot to separate the eggs and discovered this can also be a New York style cheesecake. If you don't like the light custardy texture of this one, just don't separate the eggs. Bake as directed, but you will end up with that thick, creamy, stick to the top of your mouth cheesecake instead. Either way, this recipe is a keeper! And it really is divine without any fruit or toppings. Thank you Maureen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rising Sun, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Was not a firm cheesecake. It was too soft and custard like. had a good flavor but was not like a cheesecake at all. I got compliments on it but probably will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Really, really good. Easy to make, light fluffy texture. Almost too delicate, had lots of trouble cutting it, and chilled it for over 24hrs. first. Ran a sharp knife under hot water and dried it for each cut. Any ideas or help here for slicing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Somewhat eggy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Tried this recipe and the family loved it. They now ask me to make one a week. I did add some blueberries to the mix so they cooked with the cheesecake. Add a blueberry sauce topping on top of that and it's like a little slice of heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
My Boyfriend is obsessed with it! I always get tons of compliments. Is also really good when putting some lemon extract in it and some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Oh my gosh! SOOO easy, SOOOO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This was easy to prepare and delicious. My family loved it! Next time I will make a thicker graham cracker crust. I also reduced the baking time to 65 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
OH MY Gosh love this recipe this is the first time I've made a cheese cake from scratch its soooo yummy and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Venice, Florida, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by keri marion
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
fantastic! i substituted 1.5C half & half for the whipping cream and brought the total butter to 1 good sized pat. also in crust put 1/8C ground almonds and 1/8C ground mexican brown sugar. stellar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keri marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States