Philly Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Wonderful. Not too sweet. Light because of the whipped egg whites. I used 1 cup milk instead of cream. Today I'm trying 1/2 cup of milk. My 5 year old helps to make it and the kids love it (husband too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Delicious!! My parents love light cheesecake so beating the whites separately really made this cake perfect for us. Perfect basic cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I am a really good baker, and this is just lame. I was looking for something quick and easy to shoot out for a party. The mix is runny. I knew it the minute I started mixing, but had no time to fix it. I would rather spend the time in advance making a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I have made this recipe 2 times now and it is simply wonderful! The beauty of it is you can do it by the steps as written or or do it backwards (like my 2nd one). Both times added fruit compote on the top. I will only use this cheesecake recipe. Note: using one reviewers advice on putting foil around the bottom so that none of the water gets into the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M. Grillo
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very good (and easy) recipe to follow. Not sure why some reviewers had overly browned tops or ingredients seperating. It may have been their oven temp or amount of water around the pan, etc. When folding in the egg whites, make sure you've mixed them in completely. Using a wooded spoon to do this thoroughly will not hurt it. I was very pleased with the final texture and look , although it was lighter in texture than I'm used to. I followed the directions exactly. My only compliant was the graham cracker crust which did not work at stated. Once the fine crumbs hit the butter, nothing else would stick. Best bet would be to use directions for a graham cracker crust (more crumbs needed than mentioned in this recipe) and continue on from there. Definitely a keeper for a lighter version of cheesecake with a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was a great recipe. I was looking for a coffee cheesecake recipe but I couldn't find one so I added 1/2 a cup of strongly brewed coffee. Also, I only had 3 eggs and 3/4 cup of heavy cream. I only had time to bake it for about an hour. Despite all the changes I had to make it was WONDERFUL!!! I'm going to try it again with the recommended amounts but try it with coffee, you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Restaurant style cheesecake, not too sweet. Came out perfect! I increased the cream cheese to 16 oz. Baked as directed for 90 minutes then turned off oven and left the cake in an additional hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellie's Belly
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This is an excellent basic cheesecake recipe. It was just sweet enough, and had a very smooth, soft texture, yet maintained its shape nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie's Belly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I was looking for a lighter, fluffier cheesecake, similar to the one they serve at Capitol Grille. This was it! Because of the cream and egg whites, it is not as dense as traditional cheesecake, yet creamy and delicious. The recipe photo that shows layers, is because the egg whites were not mixed into the batter enough. Mix them in gently but thoroughly as instructed and you will not get layers. I will make this again with one change - I will mix the graham crackers and butter and press it to the sides of the pan beforehand like most cheesecake recipes, rather than pouring the butter in and rolling the crumbs around. This did not provide a thick enough crust, although it did not stick to the pan. Overnight in the refrigerator is adequate for cooling. Also, I used a 9" springform pan, which worked perfectly. I fear a 8" would be too small to hold the batter. I wrapped the bottom of the pan in tinfoil to prevent water from entering the pan and baked in a 1" waterbath. I almost baked without a waterbath since it seems like too much work, but it really turned out perfect baking at 300 for 90 minutes exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States