PHILLY Blackforest Stuffed Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
THESE WERE EXCELLENT!!!!! My husband, who is not even a chocolate fan, devoured these. I prepared the boxed cake per the directions, but instead of 1/2 cup oil, i did 1 tablespoon and added 1/2 cup applesauce (SO MOIST!). I also added about a 1/2 cup strong coffee to my cake mix batter to enhance the chocolate flavor, or kahlua would be good i bet as well. Then when the cupcakes were finished, i made my own whipped cream and sprinkled tiny semi-sweet choc chips on top along with the cherry pie filling. Seriously, BETTER than bakery cupcakes! To die for when they are COLD and have settled in the fridge over night. Watch people's faces when they try these! I am also going to try a spice cake mix with the cream cheese filling and apple pie filling drizzled with caramel sauce! YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Oh-so-yummy and impressive looking! I agree it's important to get your proportions right on these. I found that 1 1/2 tablespoons cake batter, followed by 1 1/2 teaspoons each of the cream cheese mix and cherry pie filling gave me the best size cupcakes. I got rave reviews on these - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
These were great! I used the low fat choc. cake mix recipe and nofat cream cheese and whip topping and no sugar cherry pie filling. You couldn't tell these were low sugar and fat! They were wonderful and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Followed the direction to the T; one suggestion though, let it sit in the refrigerator overnight after baking- the coldness makes the cupcakes even more moist than it already is...was a great hit at the office holiday party...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoRoMarie17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I have made these twice and had good reviews at work and home. I followed most of the recipe but instead of using the the cool whip for icing I used premade cream cheese icing which i found stored nicely overnight. I also used an ice cream scoop to put the cake filling into the cupcake holders - worked like a charm. I filled it 3/4 of the way so the filling wasn't to far on the bottom to make it soft and wasn't to close to the top to make it pop off when you are trying to unwrap it to eat. Thanks for the recipe, it sure has became one of my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I made this cake a few times in a Bundt pan instead...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina Rust
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
These are so yummy! I found that putting 2 TBS of cake batter in initially is too much, I had some major overflow on the first batch. I cut back a little and ended up with perfect cupcakes. I didn't top with the coolwhip and cherries until they were ready to be eaten just to keep the whipped cream from getting that crusty stiffness. These are so tasty and a nice change from a regular old fashioned cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Rust

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I hate to be negative, but I really didn't like this recipe. I found that the cream cheese flavor was too complicated and distracted from the usual cherry/chocolate/whip cream joy of a traditional blackforest cake. Also, my cream cheese/cherry filling sank to the bottom of my cupcakes and became a sloppy mess at the bottom. I also didn't like the frosting...it was dense and had an overpowering cream cheese flavor. I actually like (love?) cream cheese, but I felt that it didn't work well with the other flavors in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emi
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
These are absolutely delicious (and i dont even like cherries!) they are definitely better cold the next day, so try to make these ahead. here's what i did to get the perfect cupcake: *use devils food cake mix and add 1/4C strong coffee * spoon 1.5T of batter into the bottoms *spoon in 0.5T cream cheese mixture and spread it out into a flat circle with your fingers as best as possible *spoon in 1-2 cherries making sure they are directly on top of the creamcheese *cover with 1T or so of cake mix ... by taking these measures, i ended up with cupcakes exactly like in the picture, and they weren't too messy to eat. i had a 21oz can of cherry pie filling and it was more than enough to fill and have enough to put on top of 27 cupcakes. i used store-bought whipped white frosting (didnt have time to make my own, but i want to try with 'sturdy whipped cream frosting' from this site next time) i topped w/ 1 cherry and some mini choc. chips... PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I made this for my family and they finished it off in one night, very easy recipe to make. Very moist, delicious, and a crowd pleasurer for sure.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dugald, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States