PHILLY Blackforest Stuffed Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Bethany
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
OH MY GOODNESS!! These are soooo good!! I mixed the cake as stated on the box. (I didn't use a low fat version) I put one tablespoon of mix on the bottom, spoonful of cream cheese mix, about two cherries worth, and then another tablespoon of cake mix on top. I baked them for 21 mins. and they turned out perfect. I don't care for whipped cream, so I used chocolate and vanilla frosting on mine. The ones with chocolate frosting are to die for!!! I will make these over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Yummy! The reviews are correct in stating that it is hard to get the proportions right - mine turned out really large. My kids LOVED the cherry suprise in the middle. I agree with another revewier that they are even better cold the next day. I also couldn't taste the cream cheese very much, next time I think I may even omit it completely, or substitute it for another kind of filling. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
These were tasty muffins. I followed the recipe but be sure to spray your muffin pans well or use the liners as indicated also make sure you add enough batter before the cherries or your cherries and cream cheese will leak out the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daddyzlitlgrl
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
amazing..... I first tried the cherry pie fuilling but when i tried the "cherry cranberry" filling we were in love.... we are planning on using these little heavenly cupcakes at our upcoming wedding... thanx again for sharring!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daddyzlitlgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
A really great recipe. I ran out of the chocolate batter and cream cheese filling. I'd double the cream cheese recipe. But the recipre is worth the extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahmee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These came out ok, not very sweet, and I really couldn't taste the cream cheese filling. My cupcakes looked just like the first picture, I put 1& 1/2 TBS cake mix and a large tsp of each filling. Next time I may try to add more of the cream cheese filling, but a tsp of the cherries (about two cherries) seemed to be more then enough. A nice recipe, and kids will like the cherry surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
These are YUMMY.... I used big cupcake wrappers. 2 tablesppons of batter on the bottom, used a cookie scoop for the cream cheese and a tsp of the cherries, then topped with 2 more tablespoons of batter. I frosted them with "Rick's Special Buttercream" frosting. (IF you haven't made that yet, look it up on here! The perfect frosting!!) The only thing that went wrong with my cupcakes is that the cherries sank to the bottom of the batter while cooking so when you took the wrapper off, you had kind of a mess. Ok though, since I made mine bigger, it was ok to eat it on a plate with a fork. Will so make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle755

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by emi
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
These are absolutely delicious (and i dont even like cherries!) they are definitely better cold the next day, so try to make these ahead. here's what i did to get the perfect cupcake: *use devils food cake mix and add 1/4C strong coffee * spoon 1.5T of batter into the bottoms *spoon in 0.5T cream cheese mixture and spread it out into a flat circle with your fingers as best as possible *spoon in 1-2 cherries making sure they are directly on top of the creamcheese *cover with 1T or so of cake mix ... by taking these measures, i ended up with cupcakes exactly like in the picture, and they weren't too messy to eat. i had a 21oz can of cherry pie filling and it was more than enough to fill and have enough to put on top of 27 cupcakes. i used store-bought whipped white frosting (didnt have time to make my own, but i want to try with 'sturdy whipped cream frosting' from this site next time) i topped w/ 1 cherry and some mini choc. chips... PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Wonderful taste! The only reason I give it 4 stars vs 5 is that in order to get enough cherry filling in the middle the cake on the bottom comes out way too thin. Also, I am thinking the cream cheese layer in the middle was incorporated to prevent the cherry filling from ending up completely on the bottom, kind of like a barrier so the cherries don't break through the bottom? Because the flavor of the cream cheese is not there at all, it is totally lost in the chocolate and cherry flavors. Otherwise this is a very tasty cupcake. It can be messy eating though! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Amazing!!! Will have to make again or my hubby may kick me out. lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaHartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

How to Make Polar Bear Cupcakes

These cute critters are sure to please animal lovers.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States