PHILLY Blackforest Stuffed Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by vatech90
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
These were really easy and the result was pretty impressive. I even thought I had goofed when my muffin cups seemed too full but everything baked up nicely and nothing oozed out. I topped mine with some leftover fudge icing I had from making a cake earlier in the week and my kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vatech90

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
these were very good and i'm not even a chocolate cake fan! I agree that proportions are key here. I did 1 1/2 TBS batter, ~1 TBS filling and 3 cherries for the bottoms and then put the remaining batter evenly on top. I made my own cake batter and did half of these with a red velvet batter and half with the dark chocolate cake from this site. I ended up having extra batter for both but that might be due to my batter proportions. For the frosting i made a cream cheese frosting and used the syrup from the filling (I used all the cherries). they are a little time consuming but i think well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
the cherry and cream cheese make hardly a change in these cupcakes and i was a little disappointed. maybe next time i will double the amount of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I hate to be negative, but I really didn't like this recipe. I found that the cream cheese flavor was too complicated and distracted from the usual cherry/chocolate/whip cream joy of a traditional blackforest cake. Also, my cream cheese/cherry filling sank to the bottom of my cupcakes and became a sloppy mess at the bottom. I also didn't like the frosting...it was dense and had an overpowering cream cheese flavor. I actually like (love?) cream cheese, but I felt that it didn't work well with the other flavors in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper-Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I hate to be the only one saying this, but I didn't feel these cupcakes were worth the effort. You have to make sure you get the portions of the different layers correct otherwise when you take the cupcakes out of the pan, they just fall apart. The cream cheese center really didn't taste like anything. The only saving grace was the whipped cream cheese frosting that I used. Wouldn't make this again. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and these were amazing! I highly recommend them! Make sure they are cool before eating them though because the filling takes a long time to cool down and it is very easy to scald your mouth on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
these are FABULOUS! my husband who insists he doesnt like chocolate ate more than anyone. i made them at night and served them the next day and they are even better the next day when cold out of the fridge. i will definitely be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Ash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Amazing. Made JUST as the recipe said. Took them to a party and EVERYONE loved them. Even ruined a girls diet. lol. Thanks a lot! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BreanneElyse
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
These are delicious, and a huge hit everywhere I take them. I use a cream cheese icing instead of Cool Whip to give it a more "Black Forest Cheesecake" feel. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreanneElyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
DELICIOUS!!!! I made these for a Stella and Dot party; of course we had to sample them before hand... then, I was worried that I wouldn't be able to get any out of the house! The cupcakes were a huge hit and are a new favorite of ours!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Golden Morning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States