PHILLY Bavarian Apple Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I made this recipe to take to a family gathering for Thanksgiving. It's very similar to one I've had for over 25 years, except my recipe has double the cheesecake ingredients and it's made in a 8-inch springform pan (so more like a cheesecake than a torte). I did use all the apples as they are the centerpiece of the recipe, and a great ingredient to use lots of in the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
YUMMY!! Definitely didn't need 4 apples though...3 was plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was so easy to make and was a hit at our dinner party with several requests for the recipe. Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Took this to a party last night and everyone talked about it. The look was impressive and it tasted great. Others had issues with possibly cooking too long... with my oven I think it needed just a bit longer. The apples were not soft enough. I have a 9 3/4 springform pan, so I covered the bottom with the crust (and did not go up on the sides at all). Way pretty, way yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is a very simple to make and tasty dessert. I mixed in some brown sugar with the white and it worked well. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
We loved this! Easy to make but tastes like you really fussed. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This recipe is awesome. Everyone loves it when I make this! I cheat and just use a store bought graham crust and it still turns out perfect. Also, I toss the apples in a little brown sugar, and a heaping teaspoon of cinnamon. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Holy cow, is this good!!!!! I had some apples and a block of cream cheese that I wanted to use up so I put those in to the ingredient search and this recipe caught my eye. My 7-year old loves cream cheese-based desserts and he loves apples so I knew this would be right up his alley. I did have a bit of difficulty spreading the crust into and up the sides of my springform pan. It kept sticking to my fingers. But I could have been a little off with the flour, you never know. Anyway, I persisted and this came out absolutely PERFECT!! It looks like you could have bought it in a bakery and tastes like it, too. As we all neared the end of our slices, the sound was almost comical. All you could hear was each of our forks scraping the plates as we all tried to get every last bite :) The crust is delicious, the cheesecake filling is yummy and the cinnamon-sugar apples on top make a beautiful finish to one absolutely awesome dessert. The only thing I changed was I omitted the almonds as we are not big nut-eaters. I truly cannot believe so few people have tried this recipe. My husband already told me to make sure I put this in "the binder"...only true keepers go in there! Give this a try, you won't regret it!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This came out absolutely beautiful. It looked very elegant and tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This recipe should win the prize of "easiest but most impressive dessert." I followed the recipe exactly with amazing results--it looks and tastes like I picked it up from a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States