PHILLY Bavarian Apple Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Pretty yummy. Bring your cream cheese to room temperature for a smoother cream cheese base. Pretty easy to make too and it looks impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Awesome dessert - I received lots of praise for this one. The only thing I did a little differently was that I didn't have the almonds, and it looked like it needed something to garnish the top, so I drizzled caramel ice cream topping on top. When I make it for Thanksgiving, I'm going to try walnuts (which I prefer over almonds) AND the caramel. By the way, I saw a comment about having difficulty spreading the pastry in the bottom, so here's a tip: Lay a piece of wax paper on top then use your hands or a spatula to spread it out evenly on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Outstanding. This rivals any dessert I've had from any bakery. The apples were a little crunchy, but were so tasty I ate them first, then enjoyed the cream cheese and crust combo by itself. The flavor of the crust reminds me of shortbread - YUM! This will be a favorite to keep, and maybe try with different fruit toppings. I think raspberry would be wonderful with the cream cheese layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
the only thing i changed was to double the filling and it came out perfect. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Very yummy and we all loved it!!!! Made it just as written with no changes and was perfect. Will make again soon. Also very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Great recipe, needs no tweaking. Wonderful crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was ok. I felt the crust was good but needed something - maybe some ground almonds? I also added some almond extract to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Wonderful! I don't have a springform pan, so I used a regular pie pan and it worked great. I also used a little more almonds than the recipe called for. Everyone loved it and several people asked about the crust because it was so delicious! I also doubled the cinnamon. This recipe is definately a keeper. It's not at all difficult, just a little time consuming if you have to peel, core, and slice your apples. Plus, once it comes out of the oven, it is so hard not to cut into in, but it is well worth the wait to let it sit in the refridgerator for a few hours. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This tasted pretty good. It has a sweeter than normal crust, which wasn't my favorite. However, it does have a very delicious cheesecake layer and a layer of lightly sweetened apples which I liked. For the apples I just used gala, because it is what I normally have. I cut them about 1/4", because it didn't say. I wanted to make sure they cooked all the way through. I might reduce the sugar a tad in the crust next time, if it will work, for personal preference. I would also line the springform pan with parchment, as my crust kind of stuck to the bottom. I did find that setting the cheesecake out at room at room temperature did soften the crust some to cut more easily. This dessert looks very impressive for how easy it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Hells yes. The crust on this is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States