PHILLY Bavarian Apple Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I followed the instructions just as written, with one tiny addition! I chopped up about 1/4 cup of almonds very fine and added that to the crust. I sliced my apples very thin, as some other reviewers had suggested, but I did need to cook it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for to see that the middle was set. Could be a difference in oven temp, but something to watch for. This was sooooo delish and looked beautiful! Everyone loved it. I'll absolutely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This was so good and really easy too! I used a 9 inch tart pan. Added a 1/2 teaspoon almond extract to the filling. That alone brought it to a higher level. It is very important to thinly slice the apples to make sure then get cooked. Also, I saw by the pictures that some, if not most, arrange the apples on the top. I was not so careful. Just kind of dumped them on the top and smoothed them out , then sprinkled with almonds. Very pleased with the results. Bakery quality, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This turned out so well! I didn't have almonds but I threw some drops of almond extract in the cream cheese layer and it worked fine. Like some other reviews mentioned the crust isn't quite enough to go all the way up the edges so you may want to increase it so you get about a quarter cup more, it came pretty darn close though. Making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I've made this recipe at least a dozen times and lost the original...here it is...it's delicious as a dessert but equally as good as a sweet breakfast the next morning from the fridge. Even my kids love it..thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Not too heavy, not too sweet. Just right following a big meal. I would suggest doubling the crust if you want it up the sides of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theloghomekitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Salmon, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I loved this! I added ricotta to make it even creamier and didn't use almonds. I used a pie plate and next time I will spray it better because the crust stuck a bit. Also, I made it a bit too thick at the crease edge so I'll thin it out that way I don't get a chunk of crust in the crease of the pan! I used two apples and still had leftover so I'll also know to place them tighter together. I'm making this for our Christmas Day dinner so with the knowledge of my first experience, I know this will come out perfect! The taste is fabulous... Like another reviewer said: shortbread meets cheesecake meets apple pie!! Fabulous :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Great recipe! I made this for a brunch I prepared for some girlfriends. Very easy to prepare and delicious! I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and that worked fine. I also added about 1/4 tsp almond extract to the crust and it was subtle but very tasty. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving. It turned out wonderful. My sister-in-law was floored when I told her I made it. She thougth I had bought it from a bakery! This will definitely be used for future gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
What an easy delicious desert!!! I was tired of Apple Pie and Apple Crisp and wanted something new. This was easy and everyone loved it. I did change the Vanilla for Almond extract and added a handful of almonds to my crust. What a great addition!!! Now people request this all the time. A+++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I have made this a few times now and everyone has always loved it. Looks great and tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States