PHILLY Bavarian Apple Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was ok. I felt the crust was good but needed something - maybe some ground almonds? I also added some almond extract to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Wonderful! I don't have a springform pan, so I used a regular pie pan and it worked great. I also used a little more almonds than the recipe called for. Everyone loved it and several people asked about the crust because it was so delicious! I also doubled the cinnamon. This recipe is definately a keeper. It's not at all difficult, just a little time consuming if you have to peel, core, and slice your apples. Plus, once it comes out of the oven, it is so hard not to cut into in, but it is well worth the wait to let it sit in the refridgerator for a few hours. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This tasted pretty good. It has a sweeter than normal crust, which wasn't my favorite. However, it does have a very delicious cheesecake layer and a layer of lightly sweetened apples which I liked. For the apples I just used gala, because it is what I normally have. I cut them about 1/4", because it didn't say. I wanted to make sure they cooked all the way through. I might reduce the sugar a tad in the crust next time, if it will work, for personal preference. I would also line the springform pan with parchment, as my crust kind of stuck to the bottom. I did find that setting the cheesecake out at room at room temperature did soften the crust some to cut more easily. This dessert looks very impressive for how easy it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Hells yes. The crust on this is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
turned out great! I think the crust was my favorite part.... I am eager to try this again using peaches instead of apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe!I did not have the proper pan so I just used a pie plate and it turned out perfect. The crust is amazing! And I like that the apples still had a crunch to them. Will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This desert is Amazing!!! It is soooo easy to make and looks and tastes like it came from a fancy bakery! I make this just about every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
followed recipe except putting pecans on top instead of almonds. My daughter said it's not just good, Mom, it's freakin' good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
The pastry itself is excellent- be sure to use real butter, not margarine. It takes on a browned butter flavor that is delicious. I will definitely be making this again- my family went nuts over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
AWESOME AND EASY!!! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States