PHILLY Bavarian Apple Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
OMG! This recipe is fabulous! I didn't change a thing except to leave off the almonds as my husband isn't a huge fan of them. It took a little longer to cook and the smell was divine. When it came out of the oven I couldn't resist topping it off with a warm caramel sauce - just a little. I must say the smell from the oven was definitely an indication of how it was going to taste. This was gone in no time at all. Very easy to make, but looks like something that came from a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is one of the best desserts I've ever made! So rich and creamy! I have made it three times now, and everyone I've served it to raves about it. I've changed up the almonds on top with candied pecans, and every time topped it with a caramel sauce. I'm making them and giving them to friends as a Christmas gift, a great alternative to Christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I made this as a second dessert at Thanksgiving and got rave reviews on it! It looked so good one person even asked if it came from a bakery. After reading some of the previous reviews I decided to slice the apples thin so they would cook and they were perfect. My only mistake was letting the crust get a little too thick in the "corner" around the springform pan. Next time I will push more of it up the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving. My brother said it was the best thing I ever made (he says that about everything). I agree that it was pretty darn good. Made it exactly as written, will definitely make it again and will not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Pretty yummy. Bring your cream cheese to room temperature for a smoother cream cheese base. Pretty easy to make too and it looks impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Awesome dessert - I received lots of praise for this one. The only thing I did a little differently was that I didn't have the almonds, and it looked like it needed something to garnish the top, so I drizzled caramel ice cream topping on top. When I make it for Thanksgiving, I'm going to try walnuts (which I prefer over almonds) AND the caramel. By the way, I saw a comment about having difficulty spreading the pastry in the bottom, so here's a tip: Lay a piece of wax paper on top then use your hands or a spatula to spread it out evenly on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Outstanding. This rivals any dessert I've had from any bakery. The apples were a little crunchy, but were so tasty I ate them first, then enjoyed the cream cheese and crust combo by itself. The flavor of the crust reminds me of shortbread - YUM! This will be a favorite to keep, and maybe try with different fruit toppings. I think raspberry would be wonderful with the cream cheese layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Tollhouse, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
the only thing i changed was to double the filling and it came out perfect. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Very yummy and we all loved it!!!! Made it just as written with no changes and was perfect. Will make again soon. Also very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Great recipe, needs no tweaking. Wonderful crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States