PHILLY Bavarian Apple Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
What an easy delicious desert!!! I was tired of Apple Pie and Apple Crisp and wanted something new. This was easy and everyone loved it. I did change the Vanilla for Almond extract and added a handful of almonds to my crust. What a great addition!!! Now people request this all the time. A+++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I have made this a few times now and everyone has always loved it. Looks great and tastes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Delightful dessert enjoyed by my family. I did substitute almond extract for the vanilla and would try some ground almonds in the crust as well next time. Lovely dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by callicocat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Yep- this really is as good as they say. I used mostly splenda for the sugar and light cream cheese. Golden delicious apples sliced thin- 4 average sized appled allowed for about 3 layers or nicely placed apples. This is a light dessert- kind of thin- If preparing for more than 6 adults, I'd double it. Tried a piece as is and one with caramel drizzled over the top. I didn;t think the caramel was necessary. It's just a simple, easy dessert. Even hubs loved it and he's usually a choc/pb kind of guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Wonderful and easy! I sometimes skip the spring form pan and make it in a pie pan and it turns our just fine. My husband can't wait for the for 4 hour cool down time, so we've ate it as soon as an hour later and it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisporte, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
This dessert is so amazing. I made it as is but without the almonds. I love everything about it and I look forward to making it again soon! My husband is not one for apple desserts but he absolutely loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
I made this with 1-1/2 bricks of 1/3 less fat cream cheese and it needed to bake an additional 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Oller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Wonderful dessert! I'm sure the recipe is great as is, but still made following changes: Added ground flax seed and ground almond to the crust, and added ricotta cheese to the filling. I only used 3 granny smith apples as I cut them very thinly. I baked at lower temperature for longer time to get the apples more tender. Still not fully cooked, but good enough. Great presentation for sure! Oh and I baked in 8" pan to get the sides go up a little bit more. Both the filling and crust are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly. LOVED it, something different but very tasty! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christina Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Mountain Apple Cobbler

A secret sweet ingredient makes this Southern classic extra-special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States