PHILLY Baked Crab Rangoon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Very Good & Easy. You can make the filling ahead of time. I have made this recipe several times and it is always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
These were good, but I will use less Miricle Whip next time. That flavor was a little too much for me. This also has much more crab than a typical Chinese restaurant crab rangoon. So if you want more of that style, I would half the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I don't think wonton wrappers were meant to be baked. Mine turned out all hard and inedible. The filling was pretty tasty but I think next time I will fry these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hallucinex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I found this recipe a few years ago, and it's always a party favorite. Very simple and easy to make, and always a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
While the flavor of this was great, the texture wasn't. Maybe since I made these ahead of time so I wouldn't be preparing while my guests where there is why. The wontons got soggy, not crispy. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Dufour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I found this recipe a while back and people always ask me to bring it. I've never had trouble with my wontons being too hard when I baked them like another memeber had posted. I have also made these ahead of time and reheated them in the oven and they taste just as good as if they were fresh. One thing I do do differently is I use 1 can of crab meat when I double this and I also use Mayo not miracle whip.. Very Very good recipe for get togethers oh and I make sweet and sour sauce 1 to go with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I have made this many times and always get request for the recipe. I make mine into pockets by folding over into envelopes. These reheat well. I have never had them get hard. You can drop them into frying oil to reheat but this adds to calorie count!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Yarbrough

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These were pretty good for what they are - baked crab rangoons! They'll never match up to the deep fried ones, but still made a nice casual appetizer. I made a few as stated, but also wanted to experiment making the normal triangle shaped ones, as well as "purse" shaped where the corners of the wonton wrapper are pinched together around the filling. The filling leaked out of both of those a bit, but they still tasted good. Next time I'll just follow recipe as stated, as those turned out the best. And no problem for me as far as wontons getting too hard - they were crispy, but not hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These were pretty good and easy. I do think they would be better fried, but they were still very tasty. They were a bit soggy on the bottom but that is to be expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
These are pretty good, but I would leave out the miracle whip & add a splash of soy sauce. Top with a dollop of sweet & sour sauce & you won't even miss the fried version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Rangoon

Wontons are stuffed with cream cheese and crabmeat and baked crisp.

Baked Camembert

Make this elegant baked cheese appetizer with pears and cranberries.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States