Philippine Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Very light and crispy, even our non-filipino friends rave about these. One recommendation, chill the dough before rolling into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Sobrante, California, USA
Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Wow! I've been looking for this recipe after making it once a while ago. I forgot the name and couldn't find it again. I initially tried it because I was looking for a special recipe to make into a cookie that was similar to those puffy mint candies that you pop in your mouth and they melt into a fine, sweet, minty powder. This recipe worked perfectly! I added 1 tsp of peppermint extract, a tiny bit of pink food color and some crushed candy canes. They were great!!! Thanks for a great recipe and thanks, mizliz, for posting the picture that helped me find it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This is such and easy and GREAT tasting recipe! The cookies are so light - they're addictive! I'm glad that I tried it and will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
I think the recipe uses too much cornstarch. After bitting into one it taste like a ball of butter and cornstarch. I reccomend not making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
These were easy to make and delicious. I made them for my family to give them a taste of home..... I got thumbs up all round, even from none Filo relatives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I learned to make these when i was in grade school but i lost my recipe. I am glad to find this. The cookies are like the way i remembered them: they are light and crunchy, and it's hard to stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
These cookies are special. I couldn´t form the balls, since the batter was runny. I froze them but they were still liquid! So I put them in little molds. Then I covered them with chocolate. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
My daughter needed an asian dessert for a school project. This was easy and the cookies are great. We will put powder sugar on them next time. You need to have a drink with them. They are more like a biscutt than cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My son made these for his 6th grade report on The Philippines. They were a BIG hit! The kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
My daughter needed a Philippine recipe for a potluck for Girl Scouts today. We made them, and at first I was a little skeptical. They turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States