PHILADELPHIA Vanilla Mousse Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
YUM! This is a delicious cheesecake. Someone commented about the density...it isn't particularly dense, but it's a wonderful consistency. It's smooth and creamy and still holds its shape well when cut. I added extra Nilla Wafers to the crust (just basically threw in an extra handful) and used real cream instead of Cool Whip. Otherwise, everything was the same. It came out perfectly beautiful. I cooked it for 50 minutes, then turned off the oven and let it sit with the oven door open 6 inches or so for 10 minutes. The top didn't crack at all. This is an easy, delicious dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This was the first at home cheese cake I've ever tried and it's the only one I'll ever make! As per other helpful reviews I try an combine most suggested alterations after trying the recipe the way it supposed to be made. Now this is how my family/friends love it. A little extra vanilla in both layers. I add walnuts to the crust, plus I made the crust a little thicker by adding more wafers. An easy way to get the wafers super fine (because I don't have a lot of kitchen appliances) is to put the wafers in a ziplock, an just use a rolling pin to roll over those cookies. Fast, painless, an easy clean up. I always make my own whipped cream too as I can control exactly how that will taste. And last, this time I decided to step out my comfort zone and instead of whipped cream w/the vanilla extract in it, I used raspberry extract. And for the top cheesecake mousse layer, instead of vanilla that too was substituted with raspberry. Hoping for an awesome vanilla raspberry cheesecake topped with chocolate sauce? We'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Delicious! I topped this with fresh raspberries. I've made it twice now, and it was a hit both times! Also, the vanilla mousse works as a great fruit dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I crushed the Nilla with a pestle and mortar (only way to obtain tiny crumbs), added crushed walnuts to the crust, a few extra drops of vanilla, and made fresh whipped cream using heavy cream, confectioner's sugar and vanilla. The end result is fabulous and delightfully delicious! It made me post my first recipe review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
After reading the review that said the crust got soggy I decided to bake the crust for 10 min. before pouring in the filling. Turned out quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
BEST Cheesecake EVER!!!! My whole family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Excellent! I served with fresh blueberries as garnish and my guests loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Easy to make and a HUGE hit with whoever is lucky enough to get some! I cut calories and fat without comprising taste one bit by using low fat cream cheese and Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Huge hit! Kitchen friendly EASY but gourmet taste! I loved the rich whipped topping the best! I normally prefer a graham cracker crust, but most of the guests stated they preferred the vanilla cookie crust over graham cracker. Even the dieters' plates were empty, as I used all light ingredients and topped it with strawberries. Not your 'cake style' cheesecake, but not too creamy either. Perfect dessert to please a crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This was wonderful. My only complaint is that my boyfriend (a cheesecake fanatic) said that it didn't taste much like cheesecake at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States