PHILADELPHIA Tuscan Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I had to double the recipe bc I was taking it to a fairly large party. It was a hit! I made a few changes, though... Substituted green for red onions, omitted black olives, added feta cheese, garlic and onion powder. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Awesome dip! It was a big hit with company, plus it's so easy to make. I must admit though I did spruce it up a bit. I left out the red onion and used chopped green onion instead. It added a bit of color and made the dip look a little more "festive". I used a combination of black olives and kalamata olives. I also added a bit of minced garlic and a few shakes of Parmesan cheese. I let it set overnight and served it with Cracked Black Pepper and Olive Oil Triscuit Crackers. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Pretty good. The original mix was far too thick for my purposes, so I added in about 2 Tbsp of milk to make it into more of a sauce. I also added fresh chopped green onions, fresh minced garlic, parsley, basil, and some lemon juice. I spread it on pita bread with fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacupped_mouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was quite good. I did take naples' advice and added fresh minced garlic, green onions, and a touch of parmesan cheese. I made about four hours ahead of time and still thought it didn't have a ton of flavor at first. By the end of the night however, the flavors had really come together and it was excellent. So, moral of the story: Make this a day ahead if you can. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
What this "dip" lacks in presentation (it's kind of boring looking) it more than makes up for in flavor! This is some seriously good stuff - even better, actually, than I expected it would be. However, I embellished on the recipe a bit, first by backing off on the red onion a little to include some green onion - I felt it needed that color. I added a small clove of minced garlic and maybe close to a tablespoon of freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano. I made this for a cook-out tomorrow night and don't generally serve things I've never tried, but this was a happy surprise. Hubs and I sampled it with some homemade crostini which is a fantastic choice for this, and it packs a wallop of wonderful "Tuscan" flavor (maybe given the additions of garlic, Parmesan and green onion). It is more a spread than a dip, which is what I expected it to be and what I wanted. The only criticism I have is a small one, and certainly no fault of the recipe. I bought a can of chopped black olives which were more minced than chopped. Next time I'll just buy the regular can of olives and chop them myself - I think the bigger specks of olive will look better. This is going to be a hit tomorrow night, I'm sure of it! Update: the next day the flavors meld and the dip itself, for some reason, is prettier. The little specks of tomato and olive are much more prominent, as is their flavor. Next time I think I'll cut back on the sun-dried tomatoes just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I added some parmesan cheese and a small clove of minced garlic. I then baked it. It made it smooth and creamy. I only had crackers to serve it with but it would be very good with some crusty bread rounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This dip always goes over well at parties and leaves everyone asking for the recipe. I use whipped cream cheese it makes it easier to mix together and spread on crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I thought this was very good. It was very easy and had a unique flavor. My only complaint was that it was very thick even after I added extra sour cream. Next time I will use this as a bagel spread instead of a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huskymom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Very good. I omitted the onion, and added some garlic powder and basil. Made a nice spread for dinner bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvelous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Very good - and pretty quick. Has been a big hit at multiple parties. The only changes that I make are... omit the onions (just my preference), add a little garlic salt, and add fresh basil. The flavors are better if you can make the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States