PHILADELPHIA New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
My cheesecake is horribly cracked in the middle!!! Like a huge Grand Canyon split going in several directions. What did I do wrong? I'm not blaming the recipe or giving it a bad review cause I know it can't be the recipe. Any big tips for this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was absolutely delicious and came together beautifully, resulting in a very tall, smooth, creamy and rich cheesecake. Even though there were no cracks (used all the tricks - waterbath, greasing sides of springform pan, cooling slowly) I ended up topping with a strawberry glaze. I actually think next time I'll use a 10" pan - this cheesecake looked very impressive, as it was tall, but it was so rich that a normal sized slice was almost too much to handle. Otherwise, perfect flavor, texture and will definitely be repeated in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I don't think you can go wrong with this cheesecake recipe. I have made it for years and it is always a HUGE hit; rich and oh so creamy!! Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittySerbia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Why do people rate awesome recipes like this one low stars when they didn't follow the recipe as written? When it says to use cream cheese you assume not the fat free kind right? Someone gave this recipe 3 stars because they used fat free cream cheese- Fat free anything doesn't have that rich taste you need for a great outcome. This recipe deserves all 5 stars!! I never made cheese cake this tasted just like the real deal! THE BEST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelshavon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tarawa Terrace, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I want to give this five stars, but I have a rule about not giving five stars to recipes I have to make changes to. I am making an exception because in this case it's not the recipe's fault...sour cream is REALLY expensive and hard to find in Japan, so I substituted plain unsweetened yogurt for the sour cream and added one teaspoon of lemon juice to make up for the lack of "sour." This recipe still came out delicious. I made it into cheesecake cupcakes by putting a cookie into the bottom of each paper liner for the "crust" and then piling the filling on top. I baked them for 20 minutes in a water bath (it's worth it to read the "tips for cheesecake" on this site). They came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Micanopy, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is the closest recipe I could find. I used the Philadelpia Cream Cheese Classic Recipes cookbook. The only difference is 1c. grahm crackers, 3Tbls. butter; and 4 pkgs. of cream cheese. Otherwise it's the same. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
this was my first time making a cheesecake,and it came out SOOO GOOD! It was pretty easy,and the end result was great. creamy,not too rich. Def recommend this recipe to everyone,i will be using this recipe time and time again :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Fantastic! I found that it's essential to make sure the ingredients are fully room temp. before starting to help avoid the dreaded crack. I made this the first time my in-laws came to visit, and they raved about it for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This cheesecake recipe raised so high and fluffy. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHLLAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This recipe is Great! I just made this cheesecake for my son for his birthday and everybody at the party loved it. Their was nothing left at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Tucker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States