PHILADELPHIA New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is my families favorite Cheesecake ever. I do sometimes alternate between the Cherry Pie Filling for the top with Strawberry Pie Filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Years ago, I made a quest for the perfect cheesecake recipe and made small changes to the one I found in the box. This is the same thing I came up with except I'll put a tablespoon of lemon juice too. Mine always cracks because I don't put a pan of water in the oven and let it cool in the oven, but lemon frosting, chocolate, or cherries make that go away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This has become my staple recipe. I've tried some in the past that were too eggy, fluffy, or just too bland. This one has the right amount of tang from the sour cream and a really dense dense texture. The trick is to avoid overbaking it; i bake for an hour before shutting the oven off and letting it sit another 20 minutes. I then crack the oven for another hour or so before finally moving it to the counter. Eventually it makes it to the fridge where I cover it with saran wrap and leave it to set overnight. This method prevents any cracking whatsoever and one is left with a smooth, vanilla creamy looking top. FYI I only used 4 packages cream cheese and 1/2 cup sour cream this time as it was all I had, tasted excellent. Reduced to 3 eggs and 2.5 tbsp of flour to reflect difference in sour cream/cream cheese. I also used a shortbread pie crust as the base and it turned out excellent also. Great hit, rave reviews, staple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I rate this as a 5-star recipe. The ease of creating this cheesecake and the rich, creamy, smoothness of it make it worth all the effort. If you bake it in the springform pan in an aluminum pan of two inches of water, your cheesecake will not crack. To me, the longer it sits in the refrigerator, the better it becomes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this cheesecake a few days ago. I cut the recipe in 1/2 to make 1 cheesecake. It called for 5 packages of Cream cheese, however I used 2, instead of 2.5 (I didnt want to waste) and it turned out to be the most TASTY cheesecake ever! I baked it for 1 hour and yes, there was a crack down the middle, then I refrigerated it overnight and you couldnt even see the crack after the cheesecake fell into place. The taste was AMAZING! its so creamy and rich. Its the way cheesecake should be. If you want something light and fluffy, then try a tiramisu, not a cheesecake. FYI-I used a ready made crust which is why I cut the recipe in 1/2. its much smaller than the springboard pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threejoons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This recipe was disappointing. We followed the recipe exactly and it was not good at all. I think it is the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Best cheesecake I have ever had. I make a strawberry sauce to go with it and it is always a hit! Make sure to cool very slowly to avoid cracks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
It was my first time making a cheesecake and it turned out wonderful! Sour cream is very hard to find in Japan so I used a yogurt, lemon, and lemon zest. You can make the yogurt simillar to sour cream by getting the liquidity stuff out using a paper towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
perfect recipe ever.. Tip for no cracks is to cook in a water bath it allow for a gentle cook, and you wont have no crack's, and leave in the oven for a hour after it's done! crack the door and turn off the oven!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I have made this cheese cake 3 times now and its always a winner!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States