PHILADELPHIA New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Great recipe. Made sure all ingredients were at room temp and used the water bath. Creamy and never cracked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
this cheesecake was very good not too sweet,was a big hit when i made for a birthday.everyone wanted the recipe,also they culdnt belive i made it .thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I love this cheesecake. I have been making them for a fund raiser for a friend. Everyone raves about it. I to had problems at first with it cracking but I started putting it in a water bath and cut the cooking time down by 4 mins. They now turn out beautiful! Another trick to keep this cake from cracking is to make sure you grease the sides of your spring form pan.. Mine never come out cracked but when it cools and sinks down some in the pan is when it pull apart in the pan this and carefully run a thin knife or spatula around the sides when you take it out of the oven..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Got crack? This recipe is GREAT! If your cake cracks badly then here's a secret to making cheese cake... Place your spring pan on a cookie sheet with water in it. Make a little aluminum foil 'bowl' for your cake pan to sit in so no water touches the pan. This will solve your crack issues. Will come out silky smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Made this because I had some cherries and sour cream to use up. Made it as bars and had some BIG time cracks, but turned out to be pretty tasty for my first ever cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I always had problems with my cheesecake cracking, that is until I watched alton brown explain cheesecake is more like a custard, so when baking cover outside of spring form pan with aluminum foil to keep water out, set in a large roasting pan pan and fill with HOT water level with the batter...or as high as you can...turn off oven and leave cracked, let the cake cool before removing, end result is the most amazing textured cake without cracks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe turned out great for my husbands birthday. I've never made cheesecake before so I was nervous. I had to use a 9 inch pie plate because I don't have a springfoam thing. Turned out alright although I had a TON of the cheesecake mixture leftover (my fault though, not yours!). It did crack in the middle all over the place but apparently that's normal. I wish I could make it perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This is my families favorite Cheesecake ever. I do sometimes alternate between the Cherry Pie Filling for the top with Strawberry Pie Filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Years ago, I made a quest for the perfect cheesecake recipe and made small changes to the one I found in the box. This is the same thing I came up with except I'll put a tablespoon of lemon juice too. Mine always cracks because I don't put a pan of water in the oven and let it cool in the oven, but lemon frosting, chocolate, or cherries make that go away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This has become my staple recipe. I've tried some in the past that were too eggy, fluffy, or just too bland. This one has the right amount of tang from the sour cream and a really dense dense texture. The trick is to avoid overbaking it; i bake for an hour before shutting the oven off and letting it sit another 20 minutes. I then crack the oven for another hour or so before finally moving it to the counter. Eventually it makes it to the fridge where I cover it with saran wrap and leave it to set overnight. This method prevents any cracking whatsoever and one is left with a smooth, vanilla creamy looking top. FYI I only used 4 packages cream cheese and 1/2 cup sour cream this time as it was all I had, tasted excellent. Reduced to 3 eggs and 2.5 tbsp of flour to reflect difference in sour cream/cream cheese. I also used a shortbread pie crust as the base and it turned out excellent also. Great hit, rave reviews, staple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States