PHILADELPHIA New York Cheesecake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
1 use 3 pkgs 1/3 or half fat and 3 pkgs regular for a total of 6 pkgs, not the 5 in this recipe. I Also add fresh lemon juice and use low fat sour cream and add about 1/4 extra and beat the out of it. It comes out light, fluffy like a mousse or Soufflé. (we don't like that heavy,dense NY cheesecake) I also order organic sugar-free pie filling instead of that canned pie you get at your local grocery store. I order Cherry, Raspberry and Blueberry. I slice, serve and guests can top with whatever fruit topping they like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Oh my god! This cheesecake reminds me of the deli's of New York City. The richness, the flavor, fantastic! So much for my diet! I've started having deserts for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I have been making this recipe or years now and it is perfect! Cheesecake is not supposed to be real sweet and it is supposed to be heavy so if that's not what you want, then you really aren't looking to make cheesecake. My husband requests this every year for his birthday. His Grandmother who owns a restaurant even asked for my recipe. I do leave the ingredients out to be room temp, and I also mix by hand but that's just more work for me. I also leave it on the counter to cool till it reaches room temp, then put it in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bastet
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
First a little background to qualify my review. I have limited experience baking cheese cakes. I have lots of experience eating cheese cake. My preference is thick, creamy, little to no crust and no topping cheesecake. This recipe fits the bill perfectly. It is 2" tall, very thick and deliciously creamy. In order to not even run the risk of cracking I did place pan inside a foil bowl inside a baking sheet with water. And I left it in the oven for 2 hours after the required baking time. It then cooled on the counter for another 30 and then into the fridge. The husband, who has the same preferences as me, loved it. The only thing he suggested was a wee bit of lemon juice because he like that hint of lemon which this does not have. The top did not even slightly brown which had me concerned it was not done but in fact it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Made this for Christmas dessert. It was fabulous. Such an easy cheesecake to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Meadow, New York, USA
Living In: Bethpage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Good, not great. Not sweet enough, too heavy. Would not make again. Helpful tip: If you like a high cheesecake, do check your pan size. -Not all cheesecake/springform pans are the same size Some are 9" some are 9/34" some are 10". These all affect baking times and outcome of height of the cheesecake. Larger pans take less time, and a 9" pan make take more according to your oven temperature. I recommend using an oven thermometer. Cakes turn out better if the oven gets a through pre-heat. Be sure to pre-heating the oven for 15min before putting in any cake. You'll get better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
WOW! THIS RECIPE THE BOMB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
The second time i have made this cheesecake..it's a big it with all of my guests..i found putting water into a bowl and placing it onto a cookie sheet underneath the cheesecake helps with the cracking while its cooking..that goes with all of the cheesecakes i have made..i give this a big five stars in my books..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Yes, this is a very classic stand-by cheesecake. Always perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
very easy and tasty!!!! Not a light dessert by any means though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mahina07
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States