PHILADELPHIA® New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
First time in making this and it turned out perfect. The only thing I changed was I used more oreo cookies with butter because there was not enough crust to cover the 13x9 pan. I used 26 oreos and 5 tbsp. of butter. This recipe is definitely a keeper and will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJHall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampstead, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Ohhhh, what a wonderful recipe for Cheesecake. It tasted so goooood!! I did sneak Splenda in exchange for the sugar. My husband couldn't tell. I did learn about my oven, it obviously is hotter @ 325 degrees than it should be....made the top of the cheesecake somewhat brown, but still really good. Wish I had this recipe when I was living in Germany and Holland (military wife), they would've loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Very easy and yummy cheesecake. My only change was to add 2 vanillia beans and reduce vanillia extract to 2 tsp. Baked just as listed turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macybay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisa, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The best ever! I used a graham cracker crust instead of the oreo cookies but other than that, stuck to the recipe and it was a huge hit. After reading some other reviews, I added a bread pan of water in the oven to prevent cracking. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This recipe was delicious, a huge hit! However, I needed about 30 oreos. I also would not use the aluminum foil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I have made this Cheesecake and it it so yummy even my kids love it and they dont even like cheesecake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACI
Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This recipe is the closest I've come to making a cheesecake that reminds me of the ones I had growing up on the East coast. Mine came out rich and dense just like I like it! It did brown on top before the recommended bake time so watch it closely as your near the end. I had NO cracking and didn't do anything to prevent it! I used plain grahams to make my crust :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I have the Philadelphia® Cream Cheese Cheesecake Cookbook. Every cheesecake that I have made from there is DELICIOUS. A cheesecake usually cracks on the top when it is cooked too long - Mine have done that but they still taste GREAT! Oh and I always use a Springform Pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Neubauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is an excellent cheesecake! Instead of one cake, I used a muffin pan. Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful. To the person who commented about the crack and bad taste... a crack means you either cooked too long or at too high a tempature... as for the bad taste, the only way it could have tasted bad is if the ingredients were possibly expired? Otherwise, I can't see how this can be described as "bad"... 1 million stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made this cheesecake many times before and loved it, although I like the graham cracker crust better. A helpful hint my grandma taught me, while cheesecake is baking, keep a bread loaf dish filled with water in the over with the cake. ( Moist heat) My cakes never crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States