PHILADELPHIA® New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I made this cheesecake many times before and loved it, although I like the graham cracker crust better. A helpful hint my grandma taught me, while cheesecake is baking, keep a bread loaf dish filled with water in the over with the cake. ( Moist heat) My cakes never crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a very good cheesecake that everyone really enjoyed! Personally, I would give this 4 stars because I prefer my Grandmom's recipes for cheesecakes, but I cannot give this recipe less than 5 stars because of how well it was received. All my guests really loved it. This is not a very sweet cheesecake, you really get to appreciate the cream cheese! The crust is thin, so if you would like a thicker crust, use about 5-7 more Oreos, and add another tablespoon of butter. I use the bottom of my 1 cup measuring cup to press the crust in the pan, works like a charm. I chose this recipe because I needed a quick dessert to make late at night to serve the next day, and I didn't feel like using a springform, or any complicated recipe for cheesecake. This came together very well, I baked this for exactly 40 minutes and it was perfect. Also, if you really want a nice layer of fruit topping to thoroughly cover the top, you need more than a 21 ounce can. I topped half with cherry and half with strawberry topping, both are very good. One tip, when making cheesecakes I always mix the flour and sugar together separately before mixing with the cream cheese and other ingredients. This prevents any lumps from the flour, and all the ingredients blend very well. I did get a few cracks along the sides but I didn't use a water bath, and the fruit topping took care of that problem. Thanks for posting, I will definitely use this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
The BEST New York Cheesecake I have ever made!! So simple, and easy to make. I loved the idea of the foiled lined 9 by 13. Worked perfectly! Followed the directions exactly, no complaints! Several people have asked for the recipe. I have also tried it with graham cracker crust, equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
First time in making this and it turned out perfect. The only thing I changed was I used more oreo cookies with butter because there was not enough crust to cover the 13x9 pan. I used 26 oreos and 5 tbsp. of butter. This recipe is definitely a keeper and will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJHall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampstead, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is an excellent cheesecake! Instead of one cake, I used a muffin pan. Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful. To the person who commented about the crack and bad taste... a crack means you either cooked too long or at too high a tempature... as for the bad taste, the only way it could have tasted bad is if the ingredients were possibly expired? Otherwise, I can't see how this can be described as "bad"... 1 million stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I have the Philadelphia® Cream Cheese Cheesecake Cookbook. Every cheesecake that I have made from there is DELICIOUS. A cheesecake usually cracks on the top when it is cooked too long - Mine have done that but they still taste GREAT! Oh and I always use a Springform Pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Neubauer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochford, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe very close and it had a big crack down the middle and tasted bad!!!! I would not recommend this recipes to no one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This recipe is the closest I've come to making a cheesecake that reminds me of the ones I had growing up on the East coast. Mine came out rich and dense just like I like it! It did brown on top before the recommended bake time so watch it closely as your near the end. I had NO cracking and didn't do anything to prevent it! I used plain grahams to make my crust :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The best ever! I used a graham cracker crust instead of the oreo cookies but other than that, stuck to the recipe and it was a huge hit. After reading some other reviews, I added a bread pan of water in the oven to prevent cracking. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I have made this many times. There is a video on the kraft site as well. Mine always comes out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaquice

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States