PHILADELPHIA® New York Cheesecake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is a very good cheesecake that everyone really enjoyed! Personally, I would give this 4 stars because I prefer my Grandmom's recipes for cheesecakes, but I cannot give this recipe less than 5 stars because of how well it was received. All my guests really loved it. This is not a very sweet cheesecake, you really get to appreciate the cream cheese! The crust is thin, so if you would like a thicker crust, use about 5-7 more Oreos, and add another tablespoon of butter. I use the bottom of my 1 cup measuring cup to press the crust in the pan, works like a charm. I chose this recipe because I needed a quick dessert to make late at night to serve the next day, and I didn't feel like using a springform, or any complicated recipe for cheesecake. This came together very well, I baked this for exactly 40 minutes and it was perfect. Also, if you really want a nice layer of fruit topping to thoroughly cover the top, you need more than a 21 ounce can. I topped half with cherry and half with strawberry topping, both are very good. One tip, when making cheesecakes I always mix the flour and sugar together separately before mixing with the cream cheese and other ingredients. This prevents any lumps from the flour, and all the ingredients blend very well. I did get a few cracks along the sides but I didn't use a water bath, and the fruit topping took care of that problem. Thanks for posting, I will definitely use this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My daughter and I made this together, very easy recipe...it did have 1 crack in it from baking but not a big deal, wasn't worried about appearences. I doubled the recipe for the crust from what other reviews had said and was very pleased that I did...used stawberry pie filling for the topping instead of cherry, took a little longer to cook then the recipe said, maybe an additional 10 to 15 minutes...but have to say it was an incredible recipe, well worth the wait, not too sweet or too rich, very good...will definatly be using this one again! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy2103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Made this for a dinner party last night and was so disapponted and almost embarrassed that it tasted awful. Firtly 5 packs of cheese and only one cup of sugar, there was no sweetness to it. Check out any other reciepes and the ratiio is considerably more. This is also so thick for the size springform pan it says to use,much too thick. Keep looking for more recipes if you are making cheesecake because this is way expensive and tastes bad. Btw I do not like sweet cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Ohhhh, what a wonderful recipe for Cheesecake. It tasted so goooood!! I did sneak Splenda in exchange for the sugar. My husband couldn't tell. I did learn about my oven, it obviously is hotter @ 325 degrees than it should be....made the top of the cheesecake somewhat brown, but still really good. Wish I had this recipe when I was living in Germany and Holland (military wife), they would've loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I have made this Cheesecake and it it so yummy even my kids love it and they dont even like cheesecake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACI
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This recipe was delicious, a huge hit! However, I needed about 30 oreos. I also would not use the aluminum foil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This recipe is the closest I've come to making a cheesecake that reminds me of the ones I had growing up on the East coast. Mine came out rich and dense just like I like it! It did brown on top before the recommended bake time so watch it closely as your near the end. I had NO cracking and didn't do anything to prevent it! I used plain grahams to make my crust :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
First time in making this and it turned out perfect. The only thing I changed was I used more oreo cookies with butter because there was not enough crust to cover the 13x9 pan. I used 26 oreos and 5 tbsp. of butter. This recipe is definitely a keeper and will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJHall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampstead, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
The best ever! I used a graham cracker crust instead of the oreo cookies but other than that, stuck to the recipe and it was a huge hit. After reading some other reviews, I added a bread pan of water in the oven to prevent cracking. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Very easy and yummy cheesecake. My only change was to add 2 vanillia beans and reduce vanillia extract to 2 tsp. Baked just as listed turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macybay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisa, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

See how to make a top-rated cheesecake.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

Best No-Bake Cheesecake

See how to make a quick-and-easy cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States