PHILADELPHIA Double-Chocolate Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
OMGOSH! Absolutely YUMMY Goodness! To help lighten the caloric load, I used the less fat Philly Cream Cheese, and seeing as I was L-A-Z-Y and not wanting to crush oreas (why waste a perfectly good cookie?) I bought already crushed oreo crumbs. I cut the recipe in half as I didn't need a 13x9 cheesecake to eat! :) For those wanting to know the equivalent of already crushed crumbs, I used 1 3/4 Cups for an 8x8 glass pan and used 1/4 cup melted butter. I also used parchment paper versus foil (my preference). Tip-pour the melted butter in first and let it cover the entire bottom, then put the crumbs in and press down all over to make an even surface. This is about one of the easiest cheesecake recipes around! and soooooo chocolately GOOD! ;) Thanks Philly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
WOW!! This is amazing! I made it exactly as the recipe goes & didn't change a thing. I will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This is YUMMY! However, I messed up and didn't melt the chocolate chips and just added them so it was more a chocolate chip cheesecake, but oddly enough, it was GREAT! I then melted an 8 oz. bag of milk chocolate chips and spread it all over the top. Once it was refrigerated, it hardened and was a great top crust. One other variation was that I used the entire bag of Oreos and not just 24. For both the semi-sweet and milk chocolate chips I used Ghiradelli brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by druidfaerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is sooooo good! Low fat cream cheese and a pre-made Oreo crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made is for Easter dinner and everyone raved about it! While I followed the recipe almost completely, I did use reduced fat cream cheese (all that the store had, but a healthy change, too!) and I heated raspberry preserves in a saucepan and spread over the top just before serving. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Carmel, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Amazing chocolate cheesecake. Only change was I used a package of crushed chocolate graham crackers in place of oreo cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macybay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisa, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This is an easy but amazing cheesecake that will satisfy even the most extreme chocolate craving. I made it for a graduation party today and it was a crowd pleaser. I did make two changes from the posted recipe: I put it in a 10-inch springform pan instead of the 9x13 pan, and I topped it with a drizzle of melted milk chocolate chips instead of using blueberries (because there just wasn't enough chocolate in it already--lol). The springform worked great but I did have to increase the cooking time to about 1 hour. I also used the water bath method (see cheesecake tips and videos on this website) and allowed the cheesecake to cool in the oven (oven off/door cracked open) for 3 hours before refrigerating it. It turned out perfect, with no cracking at all. For the improvised topping I used a half a bag of milk chocolate chips, melted and slightly cooled, then drizzled it over the top of the refrigerated cheesecake. This would also be pretty with white chocolate. I will definitely make this again! This is only the second cheesecake I've ever made and it was unbelievably easy to make. If you're hesitant to try it, there's a Kraft Kitchen's video of it on YouTube. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I love this and it is so easy! I always get great responses when I make this! I put it in pre-made two chocolate pie crusts and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
*****This is the best chocolate cheesecake ever!!! It is soo creamy and just MMmmm... I didn't have oreos so I made a graham cracker crust. Can't wait to make this with an oreo crust!! *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sisternanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
During these times of cutting corners, and the fact that I am cheap, LOL. I used store brand cream cheese,cookies, chocolate,vanilla,margarine flour, eggs, and sugar. Tasted GREAT!! A family fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States