Phenomenal Chicken and Pasta in Creamy Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Even though this was a lot of work I give it a 5 because it was awesome. You can taste the different flavors separately, and thogether they blend perfectly. I followed this recipe to a T and it came out super. I didn't have any issues with the sauce not thickening, but if you're worried about it, I suggest a) either not adding all of the cream at the end which I suspect wouldn't change the flavor that much, or b) before adding the cream mix into it 1 or 2 TBSP flour, mix it up and then pour it in and cook for a few minutes. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
The title says it all - Phenomenal! For a healthy alternative, I used 2% milk instead of heavy cream and the sauce still turned out great. I definitely recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I thought this was A delicious recipe! A few reviewers had said they had a hard time getting the liquid to thicken up, but I had no problem. As with most cream pastas, the thickening takes place when you remove it from the heat and set it aside for 5 minutes or so. I served this meal with caeser salad and garlic bread. I will be making this again for sure. I loved making that fresh pesto, and this dish will definetly need salt. I added three teaspoons, and then put the salt on the table for everyone else to add to it if they wanted to. Even after 3 teaspoons, it needed more. The flavor comes alive once you put the salt in, it will seem bland without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This is a great recipe. I made a couple of changes to reduce the fat content and to increase the amount of sauce. I substituted 15 oz of chicken stock for the heavy cream and then thickened the sauce with half and half and grated Romano cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Really, really good. It makes a ton--at least 6 GIANT servings. I followed the recipe, except I used a heaping teaspoon of chicken base paste (like bouillon, from Sam's) instead of broth or water. I then added sauteed mushrooms at the end (after tasting), and I really loved the addition. I don't know how thick the sauce is supposed to be, but it was a bit thin, easily swiped up with crusty bread. I'd bet slightly underdoing the pasta, and then cooking it a while in the sauce, would thicken it by soaking into the pasta. Last but not least, I had to use a big pot, NOT a skillet. I'm surprised no one else commented on this. Anyway, YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was awesome. I made it like the recipe said but accidentally doubled the sun-dried tomatoes. I think I'll do that on purpose next time. In addition, I'll probably add a few more pine nuts at the end because I like the flavor and the crunch. Like others noted, it says it will feed 6 but the truth is it will feed them not only dinner but lunch as well! :) The one thing that surprised me was that I was using a super larger skillet and by the time I got to the last step there wasn't enough room. I had to dump it all in the large pot I had used to cook the pasta. So keep that in mind if you make the 6-serving recipe. The leftovers were great for lunch the next several days. I'm recommending this recipe to all the cooks I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Kansas, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I signed up for ALL Recipies today just to rate this recipie. Made it after getting a cuisinart Food Processor for Christmas. Man it was absolutley fantastic. I sliced the chicken into small pieces and only used 4 breasts after seeing the amount of chicken I had piled up. I followed the rest to the letter. I would suggest it makes about 12 servings (possibly more). The flavor was fantastic and my wife was very impressed. This WILL be a recipie I will use when we have special guests come over for dinner! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This was great! It was fairly simple to make but came out wonderful. Worked really well with a caeser salad and crusty bread to soak up the sauce. I definately recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Made this recipe as written with one exception. Instead of heavy cream I used fat free 1/2 & 1/2. This is a wonderful product and the recipe turned out very well with many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This recipe is amazing - I followed the pesto recipe once and later used some frozen pesto my Mum had prepared in the summer. Every bite has something different, and delicious - the tomatoes are tangy, the chicken is satisfying and the nuts are crunchy. As you eat it - you ask "what next"... and are not dissappointed. A nice winter dish to warm you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States