Phenomenal Chicken and Pasta in Creamy Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Made this tonight knowing it was a bit more complex of a recipe than I prefer to make after a regular workday. This is awesome! Totally tastes like something from a restaurant. Given pine nuts are not inexpensive, this is certainly not a "budget" recipe. While the prep time is a lot, in my opinion, it's not a hard recipe AND the big plus is that inbetween steps/cooking, I was able to clean up so that by the time it was ready, the clean up was not much. This recipe results in a lot of food, so if you are cooking for 2, be sure to adjust the servings down. I'm refridgerating the leftovers and am hoping they are good tomorrow. If so, then even though the prep is 45 minutes, it'd be worth it to get 2 nights of dinners from it. I should add that both my 4 year old and 16 month old loved this as did my sister who stopped by to sample.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
My first homemade pesto. So easy, I don't know why I haven't done it before. This was quite a tasty pasta, but a bit too oily. I'm going to cut back next time. I served it with spaghetti instead of penne, and I'm glad. I strongly prefer noodles. I also replaced the pine nuts with walnuts since I have a bunch and love, love walnuts. So good! Thank you. And yeah, it makes a bunch. It's just my boyfriend and me, so we'll be eating this for dinner for a few days. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whittysx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This was excellent! I didn't change a thing. Definitely a keeper. My kids, who are really picky, kept going back again and again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Roxboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Finally 5 stars from my Husband. (It is our little joke to have him rate each recipe, this is his first 5!). I love this recipe. Didn't change a thing! (except for didn't want to waste a whole can of broth so used boullion cube and water instead). I am eating leftovers as I write this review. The only negative thing that I have to say is that this is not budgetwise! This is definitely one of my favorite recipes - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Very good, but a lot of work! This dish gets better the next day. Leftovers are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I just made this for dinner for my boyfriend and I and we both agreed this is a very delicious pasta dish. Like a lot of people said, taste the dish before serving because salt will be needed. I added the salt before the cream and it added the flavor it needed. Will be a keeper that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I don't know if it's really fair that I rate this recipe, because I didn't stick to the direction whatsoever. The directions just looked too long & complicated for me, so I just did it my own way. First, I cooked the chicken in olive oil, garlic, salt & pepper. Once lightly browned I added pine nuts & sun dried tomatoes and simmered together. In a seperate pot I added 1 pint of heavy cream, 1/2 a jar of pesto, & between 1/2 cup & a cup of swiss cheese and boiled together. Then I boiled the penne for 10 minutes, then drained. Next I added everything together in a big pot & stirred. Viola! That was it. Much simpler by my standards. If this had been served to me in a restaurant, I would have been very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I would not call this phenomenal. Thankfully I only made half a batch. That said, a half a batch is huge, and enough for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very tasty, but WAY too much pasta in it. I served it for 5 people TWICE and we still have leftovers. Ends up pretty dry. I would only use half a 16 oz. package of pasta and more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WisconsinMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was a big hit with the family...It is very easy to make and came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Itrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States