Phenomenal Chicken and Pasta in Creamy Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I don't know if it's really fair that I rate this recipe, because I didn't stick to the direction whatsoever. The directions just looked too long & complicated for me, so I just did it my own way. First, I cooked the chicken in olive oil, garlic, salt & pepper. Once lightly browned I added pine nuts & sun dried tomatoes and simmered together. In a seperate pot I added 1 pint of heavy cream, 1/2 a jar of pesto, & between 1/2 cup & a cup of swiss cheese and boiled together. Then I boiled the penne for 10 minutes, then drained. Next I added everything together in a big pot & stirred. Viola! That was it. Much simpler by my standards. If this had been served to me in a restaurant, I would have been very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I would not call this phenomenal. Thankfully I only made half a batch. That said, a half a batch is huge, and enough for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very tasty, but WAY too much pasta in it. I served it for 5 people TWICE and we still have leftovers. Ends up pretty dry. I would only use half a 16 oz. package of pasta and more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WisconsinMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was a big hit with the family...It is very easy to make and came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Itrich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
YOWZA....A little (big) dish of heaven!! I had every intention of following the recipe but time got away from me so I used purchased pesto and it still came out wonderful! My husband is a vegetarian so in a separate pan for him I sauteed onion, the tomatoes, and pine nuts. I then added the pasta and with some wine and cream, his turned out wonderful too. I made the chicken portion for 2 people so I didn't use the full amount of wine and cream as suggested for the full serving, I just eyeballed it until I got the consistency I wanted so ours was super creamy, not runny at all. That's what I liked about this recipe, it's all about your own taste, you don't have to measure it exactly. The salt is also key, normally I forgo it but it really made the flavors come out. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My family loved this recipe! I made it for Christmas eve dinner. This will probably become a tradition for us. I added mushrooms when cooking the onions and added artichoke hearts at the end. I also needed to keep it warm and ready to serve so when the "sauce" was all put together I put it in the crock pot on low for a couple of hours & it worked out great. Then I cooked the pasta when we were ready to eat. Thanks for sharing the recipe this is yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eljay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Newton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Loved this recipe! I halved the recipe and still had leftovers! Very good reheated. The flavors were bursting in my mouth long after dinner! Followed recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Really good. Nice blend of flavors. Not your traditional pesto, but a wonderful twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is a keeper. I made changes to reduce fat and calories and it was still wonderful. I used fat free 1/2 and 1/2, low sodium chicken broth. Everyone enjoyed it and wants it again. There was enough left over for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
My husband said it tasted like paste. All that money to make it and it was a total waste. Will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojofilini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States