Phenomenal Chicken and Pasta in Creamy Pesto Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I made this according to the recipe with a few exceptions and it turned out to really be phenomenal! - 6 boneless chicken breasts is way too much chicken... unless they're ridiculously tiny! I used 3 medium sized boneless chicken breasts and it seemed good. Definitely recommend this. - I used half an onion, because I usually prefer onion being very subtle... hardly noticeable. In hind-sight, 1 full onion probably would've been fine for me. - I happened to not have any chicken broth, so I used most of beef bouillion cube. Turned out fine, but obviously chicken broth makes more sense. This made a lot... probably 5-8 servings... but that's what you should expect for something that calls for a 1-pound box of pasta! I usually double a recipe to be this size, so I was happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Worked out really well. Made it exactly to the recipe. Make sure you simmer the chicken long enough that there is no more alcohol taste to the sauce and that some of the liquid evaporates a little before adding the pasta/pesto/cream. That way you won't have to worry about it not being thick enough. Also, I didn't rinse the pasta with cold water because I think it helps thicken up the sauce at the end. I only used 3 chicken breasts and that was plenty. Pine nuts are expensive where I live so I think next time I will only use it to make the pesto and not add it to the pasta itself (with the onions). Adding parmesan to the end when serving also makes a huge difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I thought this recipe was amazing!! I left out the pine nuts because I don't care for them, and I added more sun-dried tomatoes. I'm pretty sure it takes longer than 55 min, but maybe just because it was my first time. Definitely a hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
A lot of work to go into it. and i'll have to reduce the amount of garlic in it next time. I only used 3 cloves total and my tongue feels like it's on fire. other then that it taste great! and i'm sure it will taste even better when there isn't a strong a garlic flavor behind it. thanks for sharing it. for those who want less garlic i'd suggest one in the pesto and one in the marinade and that's it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Not that this recipe needs another review, but it was fantastic. It does make alot, but the leftovers are equally tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Phenomenal is being modest. Outstanding. I followed exactly and my family thought it was the best thing I ever made. A lot of work bt worth it. I'd make it again. May even work it's way into my monthly rotation. It definitely makes a lot. Just finished for 6 of us and I think there is enough for another 6 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
My family said it was a bit bland. I followed the recipe exactly. My husband suggested that a more tasteful meat like lamb or salmon would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkemp

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I've made this several times, and love it. I use a jar of sun-dried tomato basil pesto instead of making my own, just to make it a little easier. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Yummy and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This was okay, but I wasn't blown away. I think it will be better the next day, when the flavors meld and the sauce thickens more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Pesto Chicken Florentine

Tender chicken served with penne pasta in a creamy spinach and pesto sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States