Pheasant Phungi Perfection Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I'm not a game eater, but this was excellent. I followed the recipe pretty closely except that I added a little cooking sherry and cream. I then used it as a pot pie filling in a herbed pie crust instead of serving over rice. It was delicious, and my husband said it is his new favorite pheasant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This dish is incredible... too bad we don't have access to unlimited pheasants or we would have it every week! Tweaked it a little bit- only used one type of mushroom because I didn't have any others on hand, but still was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris I.
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe! Wow, the flavor is awesome. The only thing I would suggest is to make sure that you soak the dried mushrooms for a long enough time before you make the recipe. I would not put this is a crock pot as pheasant meat is very tender and will get tough and dry if overcooked. I did need a little more liquid so I added about 1/2 cup of chicken stock at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I've been on the lookout for a solid pheasant recipe and this really came through. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stoep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgerton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Being the frugal person I am I didn't buy the mushrooms that were dried. I instead used fresh mushrooms. I substituted chicken broth for the mushroom water. It was ok. My husband liked it but I wasn't overjoyed for the taste. I really enjoy mushrooms though. Will probablly try again with the pheasants in the freezer and buy the dried mushrooms. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This was a great recipe. In fact I used the recipe minus pheasant for a special gravy for the holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This recipe rates a 5 star if you make is as it's written. I read through the other reviews and put everything in a slow cooker after searing the pheasant meat and sautéing the mushroom sauce. That was a mistake. Granted the sauce was delicious and very flavorful. However the pheasant does not have enough fat in the meat to be very good in a slow cooker so instead it comes out dry with a terrible texture. My recommendation: either make it as stated in the recipe, or sauté everything but the meat, throw it into a slow cooker while letting the pheasant marinate, and cook up the pheasant right before you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe! Restaurant worthy~ I did however alter a few things. I actually slowed cooked this recipe in my crock pot. I used fresh mushrooms, dried julienne cut tomatoes and a little veggie stock to keep the moisture. My husband and company raved for days over this meal. It's so good, I only prepare for great friends. Serve it over any rice, its spetacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I had a freezer full of pheasants and wasn't sure what to do with them. Then I found this recipe...absolutely fantastic! Really good flavor. Looked appealing, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kunkletown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

How to Make Duck Sous Vide

See Chef John’s stovetop technique for making duck breasts “sous vide.”

Roast Quail with Cured Lemon

See how to make gorgeous, super-simple roast quail with cured lemons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States