Pfeffernusse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
These cookies are fabulous! Not a sweet treat, but a wonderful spicy cookie. My husband loves Pfeffernusse, and I had never made them. He raved about them. Warn the readers that the dough is dry and crumbly. I was afraid I had put too much flour in, and made a second batch! But they came out great. Took the second dough and froze it to bake them off for when my adult kids come for a visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I love these cookies. They remind me of my grandmother's cookies from Germany. I make the recipe exactly as is BUT after I pull them from the oven I put them in a bag of powdered sugar and coat them. Then I let them sit for 3 - 5 days. Sometimes I coat them again with powdered sugar before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Sharkey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I made this recipe without the cardamom and almonds. I used black pepper instead of white pepper. Over all I really liked the cookie. I also added a power sugar icing to the top of the cookies. This icing made the cookies even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I loved these! I ran out of cardamom, so I used some nutmeg and cloves in place. I also added vanilla and about 1 tablespoon of honey. These are great with black coffee! I later thought adding in orange or lemon zest would be a lovely variation. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I was looking for a recipe that had a different unique taste to it. These sounded good so I made them according to the recipe, adding in the optional almonds. (I toasted them first in the oven before I added them and it made a wonderful difference) ~ This recipe was GREAT. I didn't want to give any of them away! If you like exotic different flavors with a little pinch of spice, you will love these. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scanime
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
My favorite of the Pfeffernusse recipes... it tastes like the ones my grandmother makes. I did both a normal batch, and following another reviewer's suggestion, a batch with double the spices (except pepper). I like it better with the stronger spices and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I love these cookies! This is my first time baking them and I loved them just as the recipe is. I just love the spiciness of dough and they are so easy to just pop into your mouth. I'll definitely keep these in my regular repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I am a firm believer in trying the original recipe before making modifications, unless of course there is an obvious error in the ingredients. I followed the recipe exactly and really enjoyed the flavor of these cookies. I didn't add the almonds because I'm not a big fan of nuts in desserts. If you are not a fan of cardamom, you probably won't like these cookies. The cardamom flavor was definitely present, but not overpowering. Definitely follow the instructions and only add 1/2 cup of the flour mixture at a time. The last 1/2 cup to Cup of flour you will probably want to knead the dough by hand. Don't expect a very big cookie. They don't grow much bigger than the inch ball you originally rolled them into. My children and my husband really liked the cookies. It was a very easy recipe and one that I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Way easier than I would think. Mixing the dough was a snap, although it did get crumbly as others said, Makes a ball nicely. Try to keep them the size of an acorn. I went the traditional route and rolled the baked cookie in confectioners sugar. I didn't think it'd stick well but it did,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Yum. Saw something similar on TV and came here to find a recipe. Love the bit of spice in a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States