Pfeffernusse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Polniere
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Great recipe. These are one of my favorite cookies. I added about 2 T of cocoa powder and 2 tsp vanilla extract. Didn't have cardamom so I used nutmeg instead. I also doubled the spices as many people have suggested. Once they cooled, I rolled them in powdered sugar. I also tried rolling out some dough and made gingerbread man cutouts. They turned out great. Much easier to dunk that way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Polniere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Well I normally do not rate recipes, but this one I just have to. I wsa looking for a recipe to make for a cookie exchange and this one says it makes 16 dozen. I made the cookies 1/2 to 1 inch in size and I barley got 7 dozen. Disappointed in that, however, the cookies are really very good in taste. I also doubled the spices except for the white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I lost my recipe this year. I couldn't remember if I got it out of a cookbook or this website. But I distinctly remember it being all splotched up, so this is it. For those Germans who have grown up with pfeffernusse, this recipe is a killer! I have friends and relatives who only remember this cookie from growing up. I know my Oma made them. This recipe truly rocks as is, and makes a ton. Eat them yourself or give them away. Tasty tasty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I love this recipe! It is, in fact, my favorite thing to bake. Everyone loved them immensely, and I like the fact that they're spicy, a pretty unusual taste for a cookie. This is actually one of the only kinds of cookies I will eat, because most are sickeningly sweet (to me). And I like the small size. They came out looking like something from a professional bakery. I left out a few spices because I didn't have them, so I increased the amount of cinnamon to 2 tsp and ginger to 1 tsp. I also added 1 cup of almonds instead of 3/4, and also added a few tablespoons of finely chopped walnuts. Overall, I think the cookies came out well. The recipe was well-written and easy to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ObsessedWithTrees

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I thought these were perfect to take to a German-themed luncheon tomorrow and I think they'll be a hit. I ended making two batches because I used a tablespoon to scoop out onto the baking sheet and ended up getting only 66 cookies, if I had used a 1/2 tablespoon it would've doubled the amount. Since I made two batches I ran out of butter and had to borrow some from my in-laws, which wasn't at room temperature. I made the mistake of nuking the butter to liquid status which made the second batch runnier than the first (which came out perfectly). It caused me to have to add tapioca flour and some brown rice flour to help stiffen it up to scoop out onto the baking sheet. They came out good, just not as spicy as the first batch. I also doubled the amount of spices, didn't use cardamom, instead ground cloves, I reduced the packed light brown sugar to 1/4 C. and used 3/4 C of brown rice syrup to help deepen the flavor, and I grated fresh ginger instead of ground. Everyone in my home likes them so far, including my dog Maddie! Will make again as these are similar to ginger snape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Yum. Saw something similar on TV and came here to find a recipe. Love the bit of spice in a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Way easier than I would think. Mixing the dough was a snap, although it did get crumbly as others said, Makes a ball nicely. Try to keep them the size of an acorn. I went the traditional route and rolled the baked cookie in confectioners sugar. I didn't think it'd stick well but it did,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I am a firm believer in trying the original recipe before making modifications, unless of course there is an obvious error in the ingredients. I followed the recipe exactly and really enjoyed the flavor of these cookies. I didn't add the almonds because I'm not a big fan of nuts in desserts. If you are not a fan of cardamom, you probably won't like these cookies. The cardamom flavor was definitely present, but not overpowering. Definitely follow the instructions and only add 1/2 cup of the flour mixture at a time. The last 1/2 cup to Cup of flour you will probably want to knead the dough by hand. Don't expect a very big cookie. They don't grow much bigger than the inch ball you originally rolled them into. My children and my husband really liked the cookies. It was a very easy recipe and one that I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I love these cookies! This is my first time baking them and I loved them just as the recipe is. I just love the spiciness of dough and they are so easy to just pop into your mouth. I'll definitely keep these in my regular repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scanime
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
My favorite of the Pfeffernusse recipes... it tastes like the ones my grandmother makes. I did both a normal batch, and following another reviewer's suggestion, a batch with double the spices (except pepper). I like it better with the stronger spices and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States