Pfeffernusse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I love these cookies! This is my first time baking them and I loved them just as the recipe is. I just love the spiciness of dough and they are so easy to just pop into your mouth. I'll definitely keep these in my regular repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
These cookies are fabulous! Not a sweet treat, but a wonderful spicy cookie. My husband loves Pfeffernusse, and I had never made them. He raved about them. Warn the readers that the dough is dry and crumbly. I was afraid I had put too much flour in, and made a second batch! But they came out great. Took the second dough and froze it to bake them off for when my adult kids come for a visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I made this recipe without the cardamom and almonds. I used black pepper instead of white pepper. Over all I really liked the cookie. I also added a power sugar icing to the top of the cookies. This icing made the cookies even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I am a firm believer in trying the original recipe before making modifications, unless of course there is an obvious error in the ingredients. I followed the recipe exactly and really enjoyed the flavor of these cookies. I didn't add the almonds because I'm not a big fan of nuts in desserts. If you are not a fan of cardamom, you probably won't like these cookies. The cardamom flavor was definitely present, but not overpowering. Definitely follow the instructions and only add 1/2 cup of the flour mixture at a time. The last 1/2 cup to Cup of flour you will probably want to knead the dough by hand. Don't expect a very big cookie. They don't grow much bigger than the inch ball you originally rolled them into. My children and my husband really liked the cookies. It was a very easy recipe and one that I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I loved these! I ran out of cardamom, so I used some nutmeg and cloves in place. I also added vanilla and about 1 tablespoon of honey. These are great with black coffee! I later thought adding in orange or lemon zest would be a lovely variation. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I love these cookies. They remind me of my grandmother's cookies from Germany. I make the recipe exactly as is BUT after I pull them from the oven I put them in a bag of powdered sugar and coat them. Then I let them sit for 3 - 5 days. Sometimes I coat them again with powdered sugar before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Dude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I was looking for a recipe that had a different unique taste to it. These sounded good so I made them according to the recipe, adding in the optional almonds. (I toasted them first in the oven before I added them and it made a wonderful difference) ~ This recipe was GREAT. I didn't want to give any of them away! If you like exotic different flavors with a little pinch of spice, you will love these. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scanime
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
My favorite of the Pfeffernusse recipes... it tastes like the ones my grandmother makes. I did both a normal batch, and following another reviewer's suggestion, a batch with double the spices (except pepper). I like it better with the stronger spices and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Way easier than I would think. Mixing the dough was a snap, although it did get crumbly as others said, Makes a ball nicely. Try to keep them the size of an acorn. I went the traditional route and rolled the baked cookie in confectioners sugar. I didn't think it'd stick well but it did,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Yum. Saw something similar on TV and came here to find a recipe. Love the bit of spice in a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States