Pfeffernusse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very unusual flavor for a cookie- very spicy and not especially sweet. I enjoyed them for breakfast with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
These cookies are unlike any I've ever had before. The flavor takes some getting used to. They are not sweet but they're loaded with flavor. Don't make these if you don't like Cardamom, that's what I thought dominated the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
I made this recipe without the cardamom and almonds. I used black pepper instead of white pepper. Over all I really liked the cookie. I also added a power sugar icing to the top of the cookies. This icing made the cookies even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I love these cookies. They remind me of my grandmother's cookies from Germany. I make the recipe exactly as is BUT after I pull them from the oven I put them in a bag of powdered sugar and coat them. Then I let them sit for 3 - 5 days. Sometimes I coat them again with powdered sugar before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookindude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I loved these! I ran out of cardamom, so I used some nutmeg and cloves in place. I also added vanilla and about 1 tablespoon of honey. These are great with black coffee! I later thought adding in orange or lemon zest would be a lovely variation. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Nice crunchy cookie, great for the holidays. I did double the spices (except the pepper) and was still wishing for more spiced flavor, so I'd probably triple them next time. I also cut the sugar down to 1 c. and it was still just the right amount of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I was looking for a recipe that had a different unique taste to it. These sounded good so I made them according to the recipe, adding in the optional almonds. (I toasted them first in the oven before I added them and it made a wonderful difference) ~ This recipe was GREAT. I didn't want to give any of them away! If you like exotic different flavors with a little pinch of spice, you will love these. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
These cookies are fabulous! Not a sweet treat, but a wonderful spicy cookie. My husband loves Pfeffernusse, and I had never made them. He raved about them. Warn the readers that the dough is dry and crumbly. I was afraid I had put too much flour in, and made a second batch! But they came out great. Took the second dough and froze it to bake them off for when my adult kids come for a visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scanime
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
My favorite of the Pfeffernusse recipes... it tastes like the ones my grandmother makes. I did both a normal batch, and following another reviewer's suggestion, a batch with double the spices (except pepper). I like it better with the stronger spices and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I love these cookies! This is my first time baking them and I loved them just as the recipe is. I just love the spiciness of dough and they are so easy to just pop into your mouth. I'll definitely keep these in my regular repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States