Pfeffernusse Kuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
almost perfect, you just need the glaze on them to make this authentic. mix 2 parts powdered sugar and 1 part milk together. warm in microwave about 45 sec dipped slightly warm cookie and allow to harden on wire rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
none of these recipes mentions adding a slice of apple inside the air tight container. Once shriveled keep replacing it for six weeks. Apples help soften the cookies and ferment/blend the spices. They are delicious. Then powder sugar the tops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I have no idea how to pronounce the name of these fantastic little guys, but wow are they fun! I served them to my dad who raised an eyebrow at thier appearance and then proceeded to consume a plate full of them! I cut the recipe by one fourth the first time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
WOW!!!!!! These little devils are AWESOME!!!!! I was a bit skeptical about the pepper in it but, I love pepper and I LOVE these cookies! I highly recommend trying them, they are not your typical cookie and VERY good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It even passed the husband test!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Fantastic! I followed the recipe almost exactly (didn't let them sit out overnight, though; I'm an antsy cookie-eater) for hubby and they were delicous. I also made a "diet" version for myself with Splenda and pasteurized egg whites (ie, Egg Beaters) and even those were fantastic! I ate the entire batch (shame on me) and will make them again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Please don't waste your time. This recipe calls for too much pepper, 20 minutes of mixing eggs and sugar is not right maybe 2 minutes. I left them out overnight, baked them and 5 min after baking even coffee would not entice me to eat them. Plus they are not attractive looking at all. I sent them to my Bavarian Friend and 1st thing she asked was "why so much pepper?" May I suggest one of the other recipes on this site. I will give someone else's a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
These are really good! I love the sweet hot flavor, and my 3 kids all liked them, even the 2 year old! It is an unusual technique, letting them sit out overnight, but they turned out fine. They do sort of split apart and look a little funny after baking, but they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
My mom is from Germany and every holiday we get some of these cookies. Not bad. The taste is in the right place but the texture wasn't quite like the original cookies. But I did do a few things differently so I can't really blame the recipe. First, I halved the recipe, added allspice instead of the cloves, lessened the black pepper, and I made them rather quickly. I also seem to make my cookies big which may have had an effect on the over-all texture. But for the amount of ingredients and simplicity of the recipe I definitely give it a thumbs up. Everyone at my workplace thought they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
when I told my family what I was making they looked at me like I was nuts, pepper added to a cookie mix? I made these because they sounded different, hate making the same old kind of cookie, well, its a keeper in my house now, it has that sweet/hot taste, which I personally like,they look alittle funny after being made but its worth it and yes, it does go well with coffee or tea, thanks for sharing this cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coolidge, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
I absolutely love these cookies. Sweet/hot flavor is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States