Pfeffernusse III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
i whipped up the egg whites before adding them in and they came out a little "meringue-y". very good though. i also dusted them with powdered sugar and they came out like little snowballs. the best part of the recipe is that it is very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I wouldn't call these cookies "spicy" --in fact I would be tempted to use more spice next time, but they are certainly good. A delicate flavor and not too much fat. Only the eggs and walnuts contribute fat to this recipe. I also rolled some of the cookies in powdered sugar before baking them; they turned out very cute (without the powdered sugar they're pretty unimpressive brown lumps). My German professor had seconds and thirds, so I call this a success. (But I found that they didn't need to be baked quite as long as the recipe called for. 10 minutes is about sufficient).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
my dad loves these cookies from his childhood so I made the receipe and he couldnt stop eating them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
These cookies taste great and are very addictive. I followed the recipe exactly except for the cloves because I did'nt have any. I brought these cookies to are German potluck at work and everyone loved them. I don't even like crisp cookies but could'nt stop eating these. These cookies are easy to make. I also sprinkled powered sugar on top, yuummmeeeee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMOREL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I made these for church and they are wonderful. You can really taste the citrus as well as the spices, and I was glad to find a recipe that does not add fat besides the eggs, since this is traditional for coffee dunking cookies. They stayed a little soft in the middle, so maybe bake a little longer than specified to get a totally crispy cookie. I had to alter this recipe a bit by ading flour until I could roll the balls - the dough was too wet. Try an extra 1/2 cup or so. This did not deter from my rating...they were delicious - many compliments from all my friends. Thanks for sharing this Deutsch treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I just made these and they turned out awesome. Except I made the mixture for 24 cookies and ended up with 50. They taste wonderful. I put a lemon glaze on top for extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Ryans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunderland, Tyne And Wear, England, U.K.
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I made these beauties for my American Historical Society of Germans from Russia (AHSGR) chapter's annual Christmas Cookie exchange - they are really good! These cookies are crisp, not overly sweet with a bite of ginger -The addition of orange zest really makes the cookie wonderful! They were a big hit with this crowd who really knows their German cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaley_Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Made these today cause they didn't call for any butter, oil, etc. I tried to follow the recipe, though I didn't have walnuts so used pecans, and added some black pepper..and becasue ppl are wimps here I halved the spices. I also divided the recipe. I wasn't sure what 'thick' meant but just let it mix on high for awhile. The dough was suprisingly not really sticky and was able to shape them somewhat. NOW, out of the oven, they're really pale!! Didn't spread much at all..They were soft, airy, kinda cake-like in texture an mmm I really liked them!! Would def. make again for a healthy [[??]] cookie, and will use as a base for other butterless cookies, but will try to add some color..somehow. THANKS for the recipe =) P.s..just realized I didn't sift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
This is delicious ! The recipe is perfect and if you make the 1 inch balls it will make 60 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
These taste very good. My husband was happy since he was the one who wanted them because his Grandmother used to make them as a kid. They were hard as a rock though, but I;m told they are supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States