Pfeffernusse Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These are wonderful cookies. I loved the taste and that they stayed soft! They will stay on my list of cookies to make each Christams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrandmaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I did not have any molasses in the house. I substituted the molasses for 1/2 cup of light corn syrup. Set the oven at 350 degrees F for 15 mins. My batch yield 5 doz. I had taken them into work. My co-workers absolutely loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
YUM! I could eat the whole batch myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Matushak Plach
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Love these cookies! My mom had the store bought version so my family compared the two cookies. This recipie won by far. They have a wonderful spice that gets even better after a few days. The center stays soft and moist (even after freezing!) This recipe makes a large batch of cookies. Only change i made was that i rolled the cookie dough balls in powdered sugar before placing on baking sheet. Then before serving i dusted them with a little more powdered sugar. I will be making these every christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Matushak Plach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
My only suggestions to make this recipe closer to Pfeffernusse made in Germany, are: Use more pepper, and use white instead of black. One and a half to twice the amount of pepper will give the "nuts" a real peppery zing. Also, don't spare the XXXX sugar coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Absolutely best cookie ever! I did increase the pepper, as I like my cookies spicy, and I didn't have any molasses on hand, so I subbed in honey. My co-workers didn't care for them (too spicy, but that's my fault), but I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
this is pretty close to my mums traditional german recipe. One suggestion though instead of black pepper use all spice. I haven't made pfeffernusse for a while because i moved away from home and don't have access to the recipe any more. Going through your recipe helped me to remember what was in my mums recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These cookies rock. This is our second year making them in bulk and handing them out for Christmas. Everyone loves them. The only thing I do different is use white pepper instead of black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These are really good. I've never made pfeffernusse before so I don't have anything to compare to. Made these last night and they are soft and chewy with a really nice spicy aftertaste. Warm but not hot from the pepper. I left out the anise, didn't have it and don't like the licorice flavor of it. Only giving 4 stars because the dough was really crumbly and hard to roll after chilling. Not sure if this is normal or not. Had to warm each ball up in my hands before it would hold together. Otherwise, very good, and I will most likely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Great recipe. These came out just like my German gradmother made them. I did add slightly more ginger to spice them up a little more. They were a big hit with my family and the people at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States