Pfeffernusse Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Very nice spicy cookie. Only change I made was that I used vanilla instead of anise extract since I really don't care for anise. They leave a nice heat in your mouth. All you need is a cup of hot tea and you are set!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These were a big hit! And recipe made alot of cookies. I didn't count but it was 4 cookie sheets worth. I used white pepper instead of black and accidently used 1.5 tsp of ginger (I picked up the wrong bottle). They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Just like I remember them (I added 1/2t extra pepper). I'm going to give them out this year because everyone that I've mentioned them to has never had them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Crispier than I remember, but very tasty. First batch tasted too much like a molasses ginger cookie, so I doubled the black pepper. Second batch a little more spicy. very good! I'm not sure what size acorn the author is referring to, because I got about 4 dozen out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This is the best recipe for Pfeffernusse ever. I had "Store" brought and homemade next to each other and NO ONE could tell the difference or said the homemade was better! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Oh these are so good! So dangerous! Be careful!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
My husband has been searching for this type of cookie for awhile. I tried to make it for him and well it didn't turn out so well. I'm sure this recipe is worth 5 stars on my next try but I just cannot figure out right now why it's round and flat! It doesn't look anything at all like the picture and my husband says it should taste "crumbly and sorta hard...but not crunchy and not soft"! and it's not round like a truffle ball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These are SO yummy! The only problem I had was that the dough was very, very crumbly. I'll try and back off on the flour a bit next time, but this is a definite repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Great recipe. These came out just like my German gradmother made them. I did add slightly more ginger to spice them up a little more. They were a big hit with my family and the people at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These are really good. I've never made pfeffernusse before so I don't have anything to compare to. Made these last night and they are soft and chewy with a really nice spicy aftertaste. Warm but not hot from the pepper. I left out the anise, didn't have it and don't like the licorice flavor of it. Only giving 4 stars because the dough was really crumbly and hard to roll after chilling. Not sure if this is normal or not. Had to warm each ball up in my hands before it would hold together. Otherwise, very good, and I will most likely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States