Pfeffernusse Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I was searching for my "Grandma's recipe" for years and I have found it. The only thing I did different was, I added the anise extract to the wet ingredients not the dry. The cardamom is expensive, but well worth it for this recipe, so it must be added to get the right flavor of the "Pfeffernusse Cookie" Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, as it will be my favorite ALL YEAR LONG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Crete, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint James, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
They do taste like my favorite store bought, but much better and spicier. I omitted the cardamon (couldn't find any in my local store) and they were still wonderful. I've been searching for a good recipe to make a new Christmas tradition and have finally found it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These are wonderful! I increased the pepper, and used a mix {Sichuan, tellicherry, white, Jamaican(allspice), and pink}. I also rolled them in more powdered sugar than specified, and sprinkled them with more pepper blend at the end. These are spicy-sweet, without the rock-hard texture that Pfeffernusse so often has - I think my Christmas Eve crowd will LOVE them. Thank you SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I have been told by all my relatives that pfeffernusse is a Dutch Advent treat. The spices are from the Dutch Indies - a way to show off all those spices that the Dutch were dealing in and affluent the family was. My recipes - Dutch and over 100 years old by several relatives - never use eggs, and let the dough rest overnight in a cool place. Then the dough is rolled into ropes, and the ropes sliced into small cookies about the size of a nut. Rolling into ropes then slicing it prevents working the dough too much. But if you use eggs, then I guess it doesn't matter how much you work the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My cookies look nothing like the photo. The 'dough' (if you can call it that) was VERY crumbly (as several other reviewers stated). I actually added tablespoons of water to get it to clump together enough to form balls. I found this recipe very frustrating and although the taste is definitely new and different to me, I probably won't make it again because I thought it was a lot of work! I made balls the size that would fit into my fist, and ended up with a little over 5 dozen (not 18 as the recipe states). Also rather than try the powdered sugar topping, I used another reviewers recommendation for a sugar glaze. I don't care for anise so I used vanilla on the glaze. These cookies are really different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
i have been looking for this recipe for a long time, i love it but why was it so crumbly, i will have to ease up on the flour, but they were still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Loved the recipe! Reminded me of Grandmas,(she took her traditional german recipes to the grave with her). I added 1 teaspoon of allspice and changed the black pepper to white. The spice level turned out perfect. I have not been a fan of the powdered sugar coating. A reviewer on another site had an excellent glaze coating for the cooled cookies. Beat 1 eggwhite with 1 tablespoon of honey and 1/2 teaspoon anise extract. Gradually sift in 1 cup confectioner's sugar, mixing until smooth. The other reviewer put a bit of glaze in a bowl with a few cookies and stirred until coated. I dipped the top of the cookies in the glaze and placed on a drying rack until coating hardens. Thanks again, I am happy I am able to bring back an old tradition to the family Christmas .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This recipe is excellent!!! My three kids (and I) loved it. This will be an addition to our annual Christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Thank you so much for your reviews! I am getting ready to make some! I had to look up my recipe an seen all the great reviews! God Bless you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medinah, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boyden, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I added 1/2 cup butter instead of 1/4 cup margarine, followed all the rest exactly as written in recipe. Just like my Aunt's in Germany! If you like ginger snaps...you will LOVE this cookie...think ginger snaps on steroids....FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States