Pfeffernusse Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I thought this recipe was very close to my mothers. The only change I made was to add the rind of one whole lemon into the molasses mixture. My family loved them, as did I. I will add this to my Christmas cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I LOVE this recipe. I make it every year. It is tedious and a pain but it makes TONS and the flavor is so amazing that it's worth it. Add more spices! I've read people commenting on adding more pepper, definitely do that! can't hurt to add more, right? More ginger too. A tip: Roll the dough out about 3/4" thick and cut it with a knife into 3/4" strips, then do it the other way to make squares. Take those squares and roll them into balls. To me this takes less time then rolling them all out by hand. I don't even bother with the powdered sugar at the end, but I may try it this year....great recipe! Lots of work but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Very authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Very good and very easy. Made the dough and let it sit over night. Only differences were 1/4 C butter instead of shortening and used white peppper. First batch let cook for 14-15 minutes and were a bit crispy, second batch cooked for 10-11 minutes and they were softer and chewier. Used a melon scooper for these and was very easy. did refrig the dough between batches as kitchen was very warm and dough was getting sticky. Don't think they are quite the store bought ones, but very very good. Will make them again, they are addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I read all reviews and I cannot see the problem with the dough myself. I have made this exactly as the recipe (I did use websites to convert cups to grams though and added AllSpice (1TSP) and White Pepper instead. My dough is still sitting pretty (as we leave the dough usually for a week for the spices to develop) but it is smooth like Gingerbread dough. What I did (apart from using the small changes mentioned) is first toprepare the wet ingredients (including aniseed) - and then siffed the dry into the wet mixture bit by bit, whilst mixing like a maniac. Only 4* as I haven't tasted it :) My dough is still resting until Saturday 17 ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HisMrs
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Im not a black licorice fan so I subbed vanilla extract for anise. Baked in multiple sizes, some glazed, some powdered, a few plain. All were gobbled up. Great recipe. My german husband said this reminded him of his childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HisMrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Absolutely amazing...if you like spicey cookies, these may be the ones you've always longed for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA RENEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Howe, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
The best homemade pfeffernusse recipe I've ever tried, and I've tried many looking for the perfect one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTRATTON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I am German and Pfeffernusse are my favorite holiday cookie. I used this recipe and these were the best Pfeffernusse I've ever had. Seriously. I made some minor changes: I added 1teaspoon Allspice, 1 teaspoon pepper, and I used a lemon-egg white - confectioner sugar glace. I also had the dough rest for 12 hours in the warm kitchen, so the spices can develop (the German recipes call for at least week of rest at room temperature). Looking forward to the next holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is the best recipe for pfeffernusse I have made. They taste just like in Germany. My friends and family loved them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States