Pfeffernusse Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Oh these are so good! So dangerous! Be careful!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
My husband has been searching for this type of cookie for awhile. I tried to make it for him and well it didn't turn out so well. I'm sure this recipe is worth 5 stars on my next try but I just cannot figure out right now why it's round and flat! It doesn't look anything at all like the picture and my husband says it should taste "crumbly and sorta hard...but not crunchy and not soft"! and it's not round like a truffle ball!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These are SO yummy! The only problem I had was that the dough was very, very crumbly. I'll try and back off on the flour a bit next time, but this is a definite repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Great recipe. These came out just like my German gradmother made them. I did add slightly more ginger to spice them up a little more. They were a big hit with my family and the people at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These are really good. I've never made pfeffernusse before so I don't have anything to compare to. Made these last night and they are soft and chewy with a really nice spicy aftertaste. Warm but not hot from the pepper. I left out the anise, didn't have it and don't like the licorice flavor of it. Only giving 4 stars because the dough was really crumbly and hard to roll after chilling. Not sure if this is normal or not. Had to warm each ball up in my hands before it would hold together. Otherwise, very good, and I will most likely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These cookies rock. This is our second year making them in bulk and handing them out for Christmas. Everyone loves them. The only thing I do different is use white pepper instead of black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
this is pretty close to my mums traditional german recipe. One suggestion though instead of black pepper use all spice. I haven't made pfeffernusse for a while because i moved away from home and don't have access to the recipe any more. Going through your recipe helped me to remember what was in my mums recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Absolutely best cookie ever! I did increase the pepper, as I like my cookies spicy, and I didn't have any molasses on hand, so I subbed in honey. My co-workers didn't care for them (too spicy, but that's my fault), but I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
My only suggestions to make this recipe closer to Pfeffernusse made in Germany, are: Use more pepper, and use white instead of black. One and a half to twice the amount of pepper will give the "nuts" a real peppery zing. Also, don't spare the XXXX sugar coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Matushak Plach
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Love these cookies! My mom had the store bought version so my family compared the two cookies. This recipie won by far. They have a wonderful spice that gets even better after a few days. The center stays soft and moist (even after freezing!) This recipe makes a large batch of cookies. Only change i made was that i rolled the cookie dough balls in powdered sugar before placing on baking sheet. Then before serving i dusted them with a little more powdered sugar. I will be making these every christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Matushak Plach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States