Pfeffernusse Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Awesome recipe! Suggestions to omit pepper is not accurate. Pfeffer means 'pepper' in German and is an essential ingredient. I used I82Many's suggestion to use white pepper instead of white (black pepper may be why some reviewers suggest leaving it out...the switch to white is important) and added 1 tsp allspice. Add anise to wet ingredients, not dry. While a glaze is nice, it's not traditional. Toss in powdered sugar once completely cooled and set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by druidfaerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was my first try and although good....not as excited as I had hoped....I should have read all the reviews and thus taken them out a bit earlier....I also added a glaze of confectionary sugar and grand marnier and dipped the bottoms in a thin layer of dark chocolate...I will make these again for sure...so I can perfect the texture..Ll in all a nixe addition to the holiday cookie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliedont

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
These cookies were OVER THE TOP Spicy!! Not a cookie for the faint of heart! (The taste hangs on your palate for hours.) So if you want a spicy blast, by all means, try this one. Also they puffed up quite high, and looked more like domes than walnuts; but maybe that's because I used all butter for shortening? (I refuse to buy trans fats.) I have to say the soft texture was very nice - and they looked especially pretty dusted with the confectioners sugar. But hold on to your socks and mittens! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Store bought pfeffernusse was a Christmas tradition when my mom was a kid. So when I needed to make cookies for grandpa's funeral they were a must have. Our local grocery store does not sell them is August so I used your recipe. The cookies tasted almost exactly like store bought and were much softer, I will never buy store pfeffernusse again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Great tasting cookie which was easy to make. Good flavors and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nogales, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These never last long in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I and my entire family love these pfeffernusse. I tried them out last year to make as edible gifts and finally had them down pat by this past Christmas. Taking them out a minute or two early ensures that they stay soft and moist (and don't turn into little rocks). My German oma even said that they were better than the imported pfeffernusse from Germany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Delicious and yes, they taste very much like the store bought version. I have allowed these to sit in a covered tin for a few weeks and I think they taste better the longer they are allowed to sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
My husband absolutely loved these cookies and ate most of them...I found them tiring to make and a little dry but yummy just the same....thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
used butter for shortening and margarine.....loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States