Pfeffernusse Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is the best recipe for pfeffernusse I have made. They taste just like in Germany. My friends and family loved them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These were delicious! I doubled the pepper and will double the anise next time. My husband grew up eating the packaged ones and he LOVED these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
The cookies are delicious. Just a couple of comments. Make sure you make the ball small--indeed the size of an acorn. The recipe makes over 5 dozen cookies and not 18. I added an extra egg and the dough was not crumbly. I baked them for 13 minutes as they were too soft at a lesser time. And they are best iced versus dusted with icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I used all butter instead of shortening/margarine and crushed anise seed instead of extract. Also, followed another reviewer's comment to use twice as much (white) pepper. My German raised father thought them just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is SO CLOSE to what I was looking for but not quite... regardless, its delicious. I didnt have shortening so I substituted with butter/margarine. I also did not have anise extract so I used anise oil, which is about 1/8 to 1/4 of the required extract amount. Instead of powdered sugar I made a glaze (because thats how my family eats them) which is 2T milk, 1t vanilla, and 1C powdered sugar (for a half batch of pfeffernusses). Heat the liquid on low and stir in the powdered sugar. Dollop it on and enjoy! Thank you for this pfeffernusse recipe, we enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Thank you for posting this! I didn't have any cardamom (too $$) and these still came out perfect!!!! I mailed a Christmas tin to my Mom for some Christmas memories, they brought me back to my childhood years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Awesome recipe! Suggestions to omit pepper is not accurate. Pfeffer means 'pepper' in German and is an essential ingredient. I used I82Many's suggestion to use white pepper instead of white (black pepper may be why some reviewers suggest leaving it out...the switch to white is important) and added 1 tsp allspice. Add anise to wet ingredients, not dry. While a glaze is nice, it's not traditional. Toss in powdered sugar once completely cooled and set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by druidfaerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was my first try and although good....not as excited as I had hoped....I should have read all the reviews and thus taken them out a bit earlier....I also added a glaze of confectionary sugar and grand marnier and dipped the bottoms in a thin layer of dark chocolate...I will make these again for sure...so I can perfect the texture..Ll in all a nixe addition to the holiday cookie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliedont

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
These cookies were OVER THE TOP Spicy!! Not a cookie for the faint of heart! (The taste hangs on your palate for hours.) So if you want a spicy blast, by all means, try this one. Also they puffed up quite high, and looked more like domes than walnuts; but maybe that's because I used all butter for shortening? (I refuse to buy trans fats.) I have to say the soft texture was very nice - and they looked especially pretty dusted with the confectioners sugar. But hold on to your socks and mittens! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Store bought pfeffernusse was a Christmas tradition when my mom was a kid. So when I needed to make cookies for grandpa's funeral they were a must have. Our local grocery store does not sell them is August so I used your recipe. The cookies tasted almost exactly like store bought and were much softer, I will never buy store pfeffernusse again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States