Pfeffernusse Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
These are my grandmother's absolute favorite cookies. She used to make them every year at Christmas, but as the years have passed, she is unable to bake like she used to. I began using this recipe about 4 years ago to carry on her tradition. I do make a few changes, white pepper instead of black, ground anise instead of extract, dark brown sugar, and sub one cup of all-purpose flour for cake flour. I let them 'age' for two weeks in an air-tight container. My grandmother absolutely loves them, along with everyone else in our family. Spicy and delicious, these always put me in the Christmas spirit! Plus, your whole house smells wonderful while they're baking. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Reminds me of my German grandma's recipe. But you need to double the pepper,as the peppery taste fades as they sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kotz Walls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
These were Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodArtist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
These are delicious and authentic! My family is from and still in Berlin and these taste just like those my grandmother makes. I'm a little late to the draw and made these after the holiday season but it is no matter, they are sublime at anytime of the year. For those of you experiencing crumbling when rolling into balls just take your time. When you roll too quickly just about any dough of this type will crumble. Roll slowly and even use one hand if necessary to force yourself into patience. You'll find they roll up just fine at a slowed pace. I also added double pepper and used white instead of black. Also added a teaspoon of allspice. If you can find candied ginger this is also a nice addition as long as you mince into fine pieces (more traditional as well). You can sometimes find mixes of candied ginger with orange, also amazing with this type of cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This was perhaps one of the very first recipes I pulled off of allrecipes.com several years ago. I love this recipe. LOVE IT. It's a wonderful way to celebrate my German ancestry with others. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
add 2 tblsp Anise oil and you have German recipe! Anise adds licorice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Terrific recipe, just as good if not better than shop bought, used treacle as did not have molasses and added an extra egg, also used ground anise, the flavor was perfect - the family loved them, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Hands down, this is still the best Ive come across!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
After trying dozens of recipes over the last 10 years, I have finally found it. My husband says these taste just like the ones his german mother used to make. As suggested, I used butter instead of margarine and doubled the pepper- which turned out to be too much. Will make it again using less. I glazed with 2 T milk, 1 t anise extract and enough powdered sugar to make a glaze that I could dip the tops into. PERFECT!!! Thank you thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My particular recipe for Pfeffernusses calls for dark karo syrup instead of molasses and cardamon. But on the other hand it also says store on the counter for a week. I'm afraid to do that and I do place it in the frig. Anyone else heard of that? My father-in-law used to make these for us every Christmas and they are a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States