Pfeffernusse Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Like others who have tried this I made some changes. I switched the margarine for butter, and added about a quarter tsp more pepper. I did not add the anise extract to the flour and spice mixture. I added the extract to the eggs and whisk them together before tempering the eggs into the still hot sugar mixture. I let the dough sit in the fridge nearly 24 hours. It makes about 7 or 8 dozen cookies close to the size of a silver dollar. The dough was like thick cake batter, but cooled to something like cold nougat. It was a little sticky as it warmed up, so just be patient and put it back in the fridge to cool down if you have to. I baked them about 13 minutes on waxed paper. To be sure they don't stick to the paper let them cool 2 mins then carefully ( they will be very soft until they cool completely) remove them to another sheet or plate to cool. When I make these again I may experiment with white pepper, or maybe even dried chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Paul Hanes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This is perfect. I want to talk in depth about its good points, but I don't have the space. So, in short, the pros: no adjustments needed; phenomenal/ traditional taste; easy; and fun. What I did: (Recommended: a rubber spatula and folding motion for the combining phase until the dough has a forgiving enough tackiness to be worked with the hands. Avoid spoons, and don't use a whisk.) I made them a bit larger than acorn size to more a walnut size and baked them for 15 minutes on parchment paper; there is really no other great way to line the pan for cookies. And as soon as I took them out of the oven, I transferred their entire parchment paper to a wire cooling rack (prevents bottom burning.) Then, after they cooled, I laid them out on a table with parchment paper beneath, and, forgoing the confectioner's sugar, used tongs to dip each individual cookie, top-side-down, into this crispy icing (sans almond extract, a flavor I find unsuited to the cookies): http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Sugar-Cookie-Icing/Detail.aspx?evt19=1 and then let the excess drip off before returning the cookie to the paper, bottom-side-down. (Leave an additional 2-4 hours for the icing to harden before storing or serving.) The icing is great but needs adjusting: instead of 2 teaspoons milk (not enough), add milk, more or less, 1 tablespoon at a time until the icing is just no longer gluey (any thinner and it will just run off of your cookie) and then add the corn syrup. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
My mother was German and each Christmas we'd receive a package from her siblings in Germany filled with cookies, candy and gifts. One highlight of the package each year were these little, rock-hard, cookies called Pfeffernuse, which we'd immediately place in a tin can with a piece of apple. As an adult I would occasionaly purchase these at the grocery store, but they were never quite as good as I remembered. This recipe tastes EXACTLY as I remember. (Sorry for shouting, but I'm excited.) They take a while to make, but follow the recipe as written for an authentic taste. Two small changes to the original recipe. I rolled the balls of dough in powdered sugar before baking, in addition to sprinking with the powdered sugar after baking. I also should have made these cookies several weeks in advance of when I wanted to eat them. They were very hard out of the oven & I thought I'd ruined them, but after placing them in a tin for appx. 2 weeks (with a piece of fruit I replaced every few days) they're now nice & soft and perfect for eating. So much for New Year's resolutions...these are too good to pass up. Make them, you won't regret it - but take time to let them age a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Flynn-Fleet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Revalice
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This recipe is a winner!! I have always loved the ones from the grocery, but they are too pricey to keep up with demand. I was thrilled to find a recipe that purported to be a near re-creation, and I actually think the taste of these improves on the store-bought. Most who sample comment on how much more moist they are. I had to make a second batch to satisfy the appetites of Pfeffernusse lovers in our home. This will become a Christmastime favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Incredible!!! One of the best cookies I have ever eaten! Yes, Cardamom is expensive. Buy it! It will not go to waste because you will want to bake these deliciously spicy nibbles again and again. I used white pepper but otherwise followed the directions exactly. I also want to mention that rolling the dough into one inch balls yielded over six dozen cookies (The recipe states that the yield is 3 dozen). I think these have plenty of "bite," and am very glad I didn't follow some suggestions to add more pepper. They are superb!!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
These are wonderfully aromatic, and the spice is perfect. I have made these for 4 yrs now, and while they are a chore, the payoff is that they taste like my childhood memory of the cookie. Definitely put the anise extract in w/the liquid, or I guess use a ground anise(?) I use a mix of white and black pepper, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenneth Pratt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
My German grandmother used to make these every Christmas. I had always loved her home made version of these cookies, and after she passed, no one had a copy of her recipe. Over the years I have been buying store bought versions and I finally decided to try and find a recipe for these and make them from scratch. This version is great and brings me back to my grandmother's during the holidays! They just get better and better after they are made. A couple of changes that I made had to do with the assembly of the dough and baking. After bringing the liquid sugars to a boil I poured the hot mixture into my Kitchaid stand mixer with the paddle attachment and beat the mixture on medium for about 8 minutes until cooled and thickened. I added the eggs and let them combine, and then added a couple of tablespoons of the flour mixture before adding the Anise Flavoring. Then on medium low speed I added the remaining flour mixture in a steady stream and it all came together in one smooth dough. I also refrigerated the mixture tightly covered for a good 6 hours before baking off the cookies. I used a 1 inch cookie scoop, and cooked the cookies about 22 minutes, rotating the baking sheets after 11 minutes. They came out perfect, somewhat crunchy on the outside and still moist and soft on the inside. And don't skimp on the sugar dusting...shake them in a bag with the confectioner's sugar...don't just dust them. The more the better! Grandma would be proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Laun
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
These were great exactly by the recipe, Sweet, peppery and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Laun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
In my first attempt I was missing anise and cardamom. Still turned out fantastic and I must say, since I was out of black pepper, I tried white pepper and they were AAAMMMAAAZZZIIINNNGGG! What helped my recipe is fresh, grated nutmeg. Really brought out the flavors. I have since then acquired anise flavor but cardamom I just can't do so I will be working on this recipe this weekend and with anise this time. I did see the recipe calling to add anise to the dry ingredients, but I decided against it and rightly so with so many comments advising to add anise to wet ingredients. All in all, a recipe even my mother loves and she is a pfeffernusse snob...lol. Thanks for the tips and happy baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Djordjevic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States