Pfefferkuchen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Glad to see so many reviews on these. I make them every year close to Christmas time. And they are lowfat! Thinner cookies would be crispier and thicker cookies would be cakier! The original recipe calls for sugar beet syrup, not molasses, but it is not available where I live ... except on-line! It would give it a more authentic flavor if you can find it. - Inge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
They are not spicy enough I was very dissapointed, They need some ginger and more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Delicious.. hope they'll be more crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I have been looking for this recipe for years. My husband was born and mostly raised in Munich. He grew up with these, but here in the states we just can't find them. Now I can just make them. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Thanks for the great recipe! I made one change. I did not add any sugar, just the molasses and honey were sweet enough. Then I made a simple glaze with lemon juice and powdered sugar which added just enough extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I was looking for a cake-like German gingerbread cookie recipe and these were perfect!! I made a few minor adjustments and I love the way they turned out. Since this recipe was so large, I halved the spices and used only 1/3 of the other ingredients (so mine probably came out a little spicier than the originals)--this made 44 cookies. I also add 1/3 cup of minced candied ginger pieces and used a basic powdered sugar glaze for the top --- really divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
These are delicious! I used a lemon glaze and they tasted like the ones we would buy in Germany. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Been looking for a recipe like my grandfathers, and this is very close. I just used this recipe for the first time, and will just make a few alterations to it next time and they will be exactly like my grandfathers. Will be addimg a little more of the spices to them. My grandfathers were a little more spicey. They bring back good memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is a nice, spicy cookie that is great with coffee. I tried the first sheet without oiling the pan per the recipe but found they stuck to the pan. Used a little spray oil on the next ones and they came off easily. The cookies are very soft when done and need to cool on a wire rack for a few minutes until firm enough to handle. I ground fresh anise, cardamon, and cloves plus put in a little extra of each because we like them extra spicy. Use a lot of flour when rolling out the dough. It can be sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAHM of 9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimball, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by txvtchick
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I was looking for an authentic German cookie recipe so I could send my Aunt some cookies that would remind her of her (German) mother. I don't know whether they are authentic or not, but I was very happy with how the cookies turned out. The smell while they were baking was strong enough that I wondered if the spiciness would be overwhelming, but they tasted sublime. I made a couple of significant modifications: - halved the recipe, with no problem - substituted whole wheat flour for half of the all purpose flour - added two eggs plus enough additional flour to make up for the liquid in the eggs. I wanted the cookies to rise a bit and the eggs did the trick nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by txvtchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States