Petits Fours Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have tried this recipe but it does LACK flavor..easily remedied though with the use of Almond Extract...Lemon Extract...Raspberry Extract.... or Melted chocolate... if none of these extracts are on hand simply use fruit preserve you may have in the closet such as Polaners All Fruit Blueberry, Apricot, Strawberry, Pineapple ect. You will be amazed at the taste difference. I happen to love love love Coconut Extract and some coconut added in, it is a favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Good, easy to handle cake. Perfect density
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This recipe is too flimsy for petits fours. A more substantial cake is needed stand up to cutting without crumbing so that when you pour the fondant over them, they stay nice and smooth. Best bet is a moist pound cake recipe (a good choice is Grandmother's Pound Cake II from this site.) A sponge cake just isn't as successful for this purpose. AR, please note: The link in the recipe for frosting does not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. "I did not care for this recipe"...... is NOT AT ALL what I wrote to rate this recipe....If we cannot express how we feel in OUR OWN words then what's the purpose in having users rate a recpie if someone can just come in and delete it and write what they want all the while your name is beside the rating??? UNFAIR, YES I BELEIVE SO!! Apparantly what I wrote worked because the recipe owner has revised this receipe and actually added the things they had left out....none-the-less, the cake and icing is horrible and a giant waste of time. Hopefully MY own words will stay attached here beside MY name because it's MY rating! Sadly some people just cannot accept the truth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
they were not the best petit fours i have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This is a great recipe. Sponge cake for the most part doesn't have much flavor. But the great thing about it is you can add to it. Whether it is chocolate, or minced lemon zest. This recipe came out great for me. and was to die for with my marzipan frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I'm eager to try this, but I would like to say after reading the reviews that a sponge cake is not meant to be very "tasty" by itself, you should soak it with simple syrup and flavorings when you are assembling it. Its meant for it's texture and then you add the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATSBAKER
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I think the recipe should call for beating the egg whites separately and then folding it in. That would make the texture better. The cake itself had large holes and not good for petit four icing (you could see the holes). It also tasted like eggs. Don't try this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnchick84

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I tried this recipe twice, and both times it came out terrible. There was no flavor to it, so I did add vanilla, and quite a bit, but there was still no flavor. Also, it was very hard to get the batter evenly into the pan as it was very sticky. I also couldn't get the cake cut evenly because I couldn't get it in the pan evenly. It crumbled something bad and broke easily. I've been doing cakes for 25 years and haven't come up against one that was this bad. Unfortunately, I'm not able to say anything good about this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
It was so so, not a recipe I would repeat; not a winner in my book. The cake was too heavy and had no favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States