Peter's Pasta al' Tonno Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I haven't tried Peter's recipe, but I make a great tuna pasta which is pretty similar. First, I would not use spaghetti, fettucine, or linguini. Try to stick with penne or rotini. Do not overcook the pasta! Second, while the pasta is cooking prepare 2 cans (6 oz each) of drained albacore tuna (flaked) in a large bowl. Use the tuna can to measure the olive oil. I usually fill it up half way. Add olive oil to tuna, then salt and pepper to taste. Mince 4 cloves of garlic in bowl and stir. When the pasta is done, drain and run under cold water. Then add pasta to tuna mixture. Add more salt and pepper. And 2 more cloves of garlic. You can eat this cold, or nuke it in the microwave for 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe def needed added ingredients but it turned out really good. I added old bay to taste, half a block of cream cheese, 1 1/4 cup of milk, 1/3 cup sour cream. Its very simple to make and i had all of the ingredients already at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
This was very good! Husband had a HUGE plate. Excellent if you don't want a mushy, soupy casserole. After reading the reviews, I eyeballed about 4 servings of spaghetti to cook, not sure what that amounted to weight-wise. For a little something extra, I threw some green beans in with the tuna; broccoli/peas would probably be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was pretty good. I used whole wheat pasta, half margarine and half olive oil, and I doubled the amount of garlic and parmesan cheese. I didn't care for the texture of the cooked tuna, so next time I will add it to the pasta with the parsley and cheese. I also think it would be better if you added some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Great base recipe! i added pitted olives, capers and artichoke hearts, veto'ed the onion, and added red pepper flakes before serving. fast too! will make instead of tuna salad sandwiches for a warm lunch! **edit: WARNING!! this recipe only tastes good with tuna packed in OLIVE OIL, avoid using waterpacked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bijoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Thanks to Erimess, I made just a 2 serving size of pasta, and this came out great! The flavors blended very nicely. So easy and quick, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolate_frenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stay@homemom84
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Had to be jazzed up, but good base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stay@homemom84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Not too bad for a simple recipe. Didn't have much in my cupboard, but this recipe came out nicely. I didn't have fresh garlic or parsley, but still came out fine with garlic salt and dried herbs. I found that I needed a little more oil, but maybe I had too much pasta. Either way, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
My Mom use to make something like this. Though she used butter instead of olive oil. I subsituted butter with the amount of oil and added about 4 Tbs. extra. I also added about 2 to 3 Tbs. of lemon juice. Then added what I had left in the fridge. Some peas, 1/4 c. of milk, about an 1/8 c. of sour cream, 1 oz of cream cheese and 1/2 tsp. of thyme. It was an easy quick recipe that was quite pleasing it's one thats easy to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Not only because of reading prior reviews, but also because it was obvious to me that this was just WAY too much pasta for this recipe, I cut the paste to ONE FOURTH. And once I did this, it was actually pretty good. (This of course also means it's only 2 servings.) I thought the resulting flavor deserved a 4, but I knocked it back because I can see where the original recipe would be *extremely* bland with all that pasta and cutting it by that much was a pretty drastic measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spaghetti al Tonno

See how to make an easy, flavorful tuna sauce for spaghetti.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States