Peter's Baked Stuffed Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This recipe tastes great!! I steamed onions in Microwave steamer instead of boiling them (faster). Also, since they weren't very big, I cut them in half and laid them in the bottom of the pan and then spooned the filling on top before baking. Turned out great. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I made these for my boyfriend's birthday, and he loved them. I thought they tasted good, but weren't worth the effort. I added some other veggies (celery and mushrooms) to the stuffing because I wanted to use them up, but even if I subtract the time it took me to chop those, the prep/cook time for this dish is way underestimated. I did most of the work the night before, and by the time I washed/chopped the pepper and parsley, cooked the sausage and rice, cleaned, boiled, separated, and chopped the onions, then mixed and stuffed them, it took me almost 2 hours. That's not even including melting the butter and baking them the next day. I recommend getting really big onions. When I boiled mine, I had to discard the first one or two layers because they were too mushy. I don't think I boiled them too long either, bc the inner layers were still pretty firm and it was hard to pop them out without tearing the outer layers. The flavors and instructions in this recipe are great, as far as stuffed onions go, but I just don't think the concept of stuffed onions is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
My parents went wild for these - especially my dad. I would keep the onions on the smaller side personally and the idea of melting one's fave cheese on top is a grand idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
I was looking for a recipe and found this one. It was delicious, everyone at my office loved it. It was one of those dishes where you scream out for more! Mary Varacalle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This recipe was very good. My oldest son helped me prepare them and to my surprise all 3 of my children enjoyed them. I used hot sausage which didn't make them too hot, and I used regular onions. I was concerned b/c I only had 2 really large ones. The smaller ones actually stayed together better and were the perfect size as a side dish! I think we would enjoy hot sauce mixed in with cheese on top! I'll try it next time! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
The stuffing is also good to make stuffed mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
The recipe was really good and I liked the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
It seemed like a lot of work, but maybe I'm lazy. Took the onions a lot longer to cook enough to be able to dig the center out. Had to use a grapefruit knife. Was rather blah in flavor. Won't bother to try it again, but if someone wanted to jazz it up a bit, it's o.k. for a one time "impress" your company. I would buy smaller onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This recipe was nothing special. I thought it was a lot of work for just an ok dish. The stuffing mixture was good, but I thought the onions were really bland. I think I'll stick to stuffed green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I scaled this down to 2 servings, and made it with 2 spicy hotdogs instead of pork sausage. The 2 onions I used were pretty huge, so I ended up boiling them for about 30 mins. Husband liked it more than I did. I wasn't at all keen on the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States