Peter's Baked Stuffed Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This looked really good. But, when I made it last nite everyone thought that it was anything but good. The cream cheese seemed to mute all the other flavors and the rice, cooked as per the instructions in the recipe, was mushy ... Sensing that the stuffing was not turning out tasty, I added garlic, more oregano than specified, and I might have tried some kind of hot sauce as well ... but my wife doesn't like ALL hot sauces. So, this dish was a big failure. However, the onions were tender and tasty ... and I will try this again, only with some other kind of stuffing ... still awaiting an inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Fordice

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
this is also a good company dish alternate on platter stuffed bell peppers of different colors. Not only pretty but healthy. I used half ground sirloin and half sausage stuffed all with the rec. given. Steam the onions with salt and pepper on them this brings out the flavor, serve with salad and buttered carrots. Very colorful meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
The microwaving option has these main advantages: Less mess, less cook time and---most importantly---vegetables cooked in a microwave cook from the inside out. (Cooking time determined by the size of the veggie.) As for the filling, parmesan is a great and covenient way to add salt, flavor and an added tactile texture for the palate. Hope this is helpful. (Note: Can also use vegetarian "sausage" and a little red pepper flake in place of meat, to make this a purely vegetarian course!) P.S. My Star Rating is based on the recipe given; it's YOUR challenge to make it a 5-Star recipe of your own. Stop whining and start cooking! ;=}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucier Du Fer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
this is great I`m going to make it with Walla Walla sweet onions after I have tried it on my freinds first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marvin a.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
What a wonderful idea.Wish i had thought of that years ago.I have missed out on yummy,once again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Good Recipe. I Grilled my onions on the grill with a light dusting of cajon spice wrapped in foil, then followed the recipe. Made it a better that ok dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sutcliffe, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
sounds delish! Thanks cant wait to try it! im an onion lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabby317

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
It would seem that an appropriate compromise to this dish would be to quarter the onions and to make a casserole out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
The stuffing is also good to make stuffed mushrooms
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This recipe was nothing special. I thought it was a lot of work for just an ok dish. The stuffing mixture was good, but I thought the onions were really bland. I think I'll stick to stuffed green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States