Pet Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
My dogs loved these! They went crazy in the kitchen while they were baking. Just make sure you keep them in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I omitted the water and added a heaping tablespoon of peanut butter and a drizzle of honey. I gave these treats to friends and family that have dogs and everyone reported that the doggies LOVED them. I tried giving them to my cat, she wasn't interested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Easy, quick and our dogs LOVE, LOVE, LOVE them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
My lovable Golden-border-labra-shepherd, Max, loved these treats. He's not a fan of chicken flavored dog treats, so I used beef baby food and I dissolved 2 beef bullion cubes in 1/4 cup of water for the liquid. I did need to add more liquid to make the dough workable. If the dough sticks to your hands when rolling, wet your hands slightly. Also, baking on parchment paper makes this a snap! Two paws up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Not only is this recipe a little expensive but neither of my dogs ate them. My daughters dog reluctantly ate them after they sat on the kitchen floor and she realized she wasn't getting anything else. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Our little Pom loved these cookies! Now she won't touch the store bought stuff. I used this recipe as a basic pet cookie recipe and added in some garlic and parsley. I was always wondering what they put in the store bought stuff. Now I know what my pom is eating...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Thank you so much for this recipe! My dog is allergic to almost everything, and I had never thought of using baby food to make dog treats. I used lamb baby food and barley flour since my Flash Dog is allergic to wheat. He loved the treats! As for the other reviewers who commented on cost, for the owner of an allergy pet, this was really inexpensive! I have to drive an hour to the nearest pet store to get a sweet potato biscuit that he can eat, and then pay almost $6 for the small box of treats. Flash and I thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
An easy-to-modify basic treat recipe. I made them for my picky pup and used/added some of his favorite goodies: chicken baby food, shredded mozzarella, and crushed up "Liver Biscotti" from a local pet food store. He loved them! I also used 1 c. wheat germ and 1 c. whole wheat flour for the dough to alter the texture slightly so I could roll it out and cut it with small cookie cutters instead of shaping with my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
We made a double batch of these, and found the wheat germ made it too dry to roll, so we added 3 beaten eggs (to a double batch) and a splash of broth to help things stick together. Since we have cats, we rolled smaller balls (marble sized) and cooked for 7 minutes. All 5 of our cats ate them with enthusiasm, and my husband tried one (to be sure they were cooked through), and said they weren't bad. They make nice gifts for folks that have cats and dogs. One note: if you use broth, make sure it does NOT have onion or garlic or similar seasonings in it; they are toxic for animals, particularly for cats -- both can develop hemolytic anemia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
These cookies are wonderful. I added 1 tsp. minced garlic for added health benefit and one (crushed) low sodium bullion cube, and some green and red food coloring. They made great gifts for friends dogs and everyone reported that their dogs loved them. My dogs beg for them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Chef John's Dijon Mustard

See how to make homemade Dijon-style mustard.

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States